Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - ednever

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 26
Dominion General Discussion / Combo: Stockpile and Cavalry
« on: June 30, 2020, 04:55:02 pm »
It's not an obvious one, but I have pulled it off a number of times to win when I otherwise should not have.

You need to have drawn your deck(ish) with some stockpiles in hand.

You play the Stockpiles(set aside), then buy a Stockpile ($3) and the ones you just played get sent back to your discard. Then you buy a Cavalry ($4 - so $7 total) and you draw two more cards (often two more Stockpiles - worth $6), that you can then play to do it again.

You are down at least $1 each time (sometimes more if you draw the Cavalry you just purchased), so by itself it is nothing special, but it can be combined to do some magic. The stockpiles give you $$s and buys. The Cavalry gives you draw (both when you buy, but also playing to get horses). So if you have a source of actions, you can often do something like this: 

- Play 8 Stockpiles ($24, 9 buys), buy a stockpile and a Cavalry (-$7), then use the horses you already have to draw back all the stockpiles and play 9 this time (+$27)

This works even better with cost reduction.

In this game (#49451302 - not sure how to link to it), there were no +actions and I lost the highway split 8-2. But I had trimmed my deck. On my last turn I Remade a cavalry into a stockpile, then played three stockpile and bought another stockpile ($1) and a cavalry ($2), which. drew back two more stockpiles. I repeated to empty both piles, with enough. leftover to buy three provinces and a few estates for the win

Since both cards are in the same expansion (and you can currently play "5 cards from that expansion" as an option right now on dominion online),  it is a combo you could end up seeing lot. 

Variation:Villa also lets you play Stockpiles and then get them back into your deck.  If you have excess draw this could work too, but Cavalry tends to work better as it gives you the draw you need to get the Stockpiles back the same turn, and the extra buys. from Villa aren't usually needed with. all the buys you get from the Stockpiles.



Dominion General Discussion / Re: Is Harvest the New Scout?
« on: May 14, 2020, 01:55:51 pm »
If your strategy needs Fortune more than your opponent does it can absolutely make sense to buy Gladiator. If he is going for a big money one province per turn strategy and you are building an engine to grab the whole pile, a fortune is far more valuable to you than it is to him.


Dominion General Discussion / Re: Is Harvest the New Scout?
« on: May 13, 2020, 06:46:15 pm »
I ban the following cards:
Philosopher's Stone
Royal Seal

At least when playing on random, all four are just a waste of a spot that could go to something else.

Harvest is only useful (1) as a discarder, or (2) as an action that makes $s. It is bad at both of those things - and it's not particularly good by combining them. Only purchased if you need one of those things and its the only option

Transmute and PStone are very weak. They have their rare uses, but so rare that I think it's fine I never play with them. I expect they would be more interesting if I played "two expansions" rather than fully random

Royal Seal is fine. It is often worth getting one instead of a silver, but it never makes the game more interesting.

There are other cards I dislike, but all of them make the game different. Those four just seem to sit there and take up space


Rules Questions / Re: Considering Trader errata
« on: May 06, 2020, 08:00:26 pm »
+1 on this.

The "exchange" cards like Changeling are very fun. The game has changed so much that gaining silver is not great in any case. This gives the Trader a little power bump, and makes it cleaners and makes it more consistent with the later cards.

I feel like if this change were NOT made, I would still play it as a house rule IRL....


Dominion General Discussion / Re: Menagerie Previews 2: Horses
« on: March 03, 2020, 12:57:42 pm »
I've played a few games now.

I like Scrap a lot - especially with gainers (including itself)

Play Scrap on a Silver and it gets you +1 card/+1 action/+1 horse - so it effectively is a cantrip that turns silvers into horses - which is pretty good in most engines.

When you play Scrap on say a Gold - you get Market (C/A/$/B) + Silver + Horse. The silver is not great, but you can turn around and play Scrap on the silver later to turn it into a horse.

It interacts really nicely with Sheepdog too. When you gain that horse, you turn Sheepdog into a lab.

I played a game with no villages, and managed to build a nice little engine with Scrap+Sheepdog+Bandit....


Swashbuckler and Guild Hall

Guild Hall provides and alternative way to earn coffers so you can get the Treasure Chest on an early play of Swashbuckler. Then each Gold you get from Treasure Chest earns you a coffer.

(In the game I just played it also had Warehouse - to set off the Swashbuckler - and Spices which picked up more coffers. But the key was Swashbuckler + Guild Hall I think


When he played Gravedigger the game froze:

Maybe due to something with Necromancer?

Dominion General Discussion / Stalemate
« on: September 24, 2019, 09:34:45 am »
Well almost anyway.

Game 30966178.

Only +actions were Ghost Towns
Haunted Woods meant that if you bought something you couldn't play your Ghost Towns - so only one . action next turn
Bishops for VP
Treasurers to pull Golds from the trash

Eventually both of us got to the point where we could pull a gold from the trash, trash it with Bishop, and play Haunted Wood - but then not be able to buy anything

I was ahead in VP, but didn't see anyway to end the game. If I tried to buy provinces or empty piles, I would lose a turn and he would catch up in points.

Eventually I figured out I was far enough ahead that I could afford to lose a couple of turns, and (very slowly) started buying Hunting Grounds, and then trashing them to Estates. I think it was clear it was going to work eventually by about turn 39 and cider01 resigned. I think it would have been over by around turn 50 or so....

Anyway, the first time I thought I had a stalemate in a LOT of games played.

We talked about ending in an agreed draw. Cider said he knew a way to do it, but we never got to the point of actually learning how to do it.


Dominion Online at Shuffle iT / Re: Captain / Encampment bug
« on: September 06, 2019, 11:30:44 am »
Do you actually know if anything was returned? It seems unlikely that an Encampment you bought was actually returned; those were already in your discard pile. Like Ingix said; it seems more likely that it "returned" the one that was already there; which means it didn't actually do anything.

If that's correct; the only bug here is in the log; not in the actual game. From the looks of the earlier Encampment play; it looks like the normal behavior of the log is to ignore instructions that failed due to Lose Track. Though it would make more sense to me if the log recorded these things as they were ("e failed to set Encampment aside" and e failed to return Encampment to the supply").

It was definitely returned.

I bought three that turn (exposing the treasure I think), and the next turn the other player picked up some more - result was I ended up with 2 for the game and he had 3.

Dominion Online at Shuffle iT / Captain / Encampment bug
« on: September 05, 2019, 11:01:11 am »
Game #30346979

This turn:
Turn 9 - ednever
e starts their turn.
e plays an Encampment. (Captain).
e draws a Copper and a Replace.
e gets +2 Actions.
e plays a Silk Merchant.
e draws 2 Coppers.
e gets +1 Buy.
e plays a Silk Merchant.
e draws an Estate and a Replace.
e gets +1 Buy.
e plays a Hideout.
e draws an Estate.
e gets +2 Actions.
e trashes a Copper.
e plays a Replace.
e trashes an Estate.
e gains a Hideout.
e topdecks a card.
e plays a Replace.
e trashes an Estate.
e gains a Silk Merchant.
e gets +1 Villager.
e gets +1 Coffers.
e topdecks a card.
e plays 3 Coppers and a Silver. (+$5)
e uses 1 Coffers. (+$1)
e buys and gains 3 Encampments.
e returns an Encampment to the Encampment pile.
e draws a Copper, an Estate, a Hideout and 2 Silk Merchants.

What happened:
I played a Captain, chose Encampment (did not show a gold)
At the end of the turn I bought 3 Encampments
Then it returned one of the Encampments I just bought to the supply

I am pretty sure this is wrong and I think I know why it happened.

When I played Captain to play the Encampment, it should check to see if I revealed a gold. I did not, so it should set aside and return to the supply at the end of the turn. But Captain says, "Leave it there", which overrules the card so it is not set aside.

That should be the end and the game continues.

But I think there must be code at the end of the turn that SHOULD say: "Are there any Encampments set aside that need to be returned? If so, return them to the supply"

But instead the code must take a short cut and say, "Were any Encampments played this turn and a gold not revealed? If so, return an encampment to the supply."

So (on of) the brand new encampment(s) I purchased was returned.

But I have been wrong on these things before...

Colonies and Fleet each tweak the game-end condition; on reflection I'm kinda surprised there aren't more things that change it.
I've tried some.


I played a few games against Lord B with Captain, BoM, Ferry and then either Highway or Bridge.

I think the way to do it is play ferry on Captain as soon as possible, get the Captain and the Highway/Bridge and then try and connect them (using whatever else is there)

Bridge was MUCH better than Highway - for two reasons. (1) You can't use Captain to play Highway until you have played a Highway first - which means you can't play $5 cards at the start of your turn, and (2) When Captain plays Highway it doesn't activate the cost reduction.

The impact of that is I was generally connecting Highway-Captain around turn 8 or 9. Whereas Captain-Bridge was connecting on turns 4-5.

In all cases after the connection is made the game ended (massively) the next turn. There always seemed to be some set of <$5 cards that when you played an unlimited number of them I was able to empty the provinces (and usually all the duchies and the estates and once all the silvers when that got me VP).

(I did not test Bridge Troll, but Canal came up randomly one time, and I managed to use it.)

I guess none of this is too surprising, but it was interesting (if a little tedious) to see it play out in practice. One "technique" I discovered that was helpful - especially for the Highway version - was switching the Ferry to a different card after you connect the Highway-Captain. It lets you start the next turn playing an unlimited number of the $5-$6 card you choose.

Obviously the chances of this combo ever coming up in a real game is close to zero (I'm sure someone ran the odds), but if it ever does,  boy am I ready!


Dominion General Discussion / Project - card parallels
« on: April 17, 2019, 04:06:20 pm »
A thought I had today (not very original I am sure)

Fair - Market Square :: $4 / $3
Barracks - Village :: $6 / $3
Canal - Highway :: $7 / $5
NA - Lab :: NA / $5

- They kind of scale the same way (order of value)
- Village is likely underpriced for what it does - but for a good reason - the game is a lot more fun with cheap villages
- Unclear why there isn't a Project for +1 card. Too much overlap with Flag and Hireling?
- +buy is obviously the weakest - except when it is the most important. When there is no other way to get +1 buy Fair is likely the best deal of the bunch. I'll bet it could have been priced higher and it would still be worth buying - when it is worth buying at all


Dominion Online at Shuffle iT / Overlord + Walled Village
« on: April 10, 2019, 12:16:08 am »
I played Overlord as Walled Village (and one other card)
At the end of the turn I was not given the option to put it back in my hand.
Is that right?

Walled Village under the bar happens in the clean up phase. Should Overlord still be Walled Village during clean up? It hasn't left play yet has it? Or do all cards leave play at the start of clean up?

It depends if there is $ based payload. But if there is then Steward is pretty great. It's a $3 lab that can be played for $$$s if you draw your deck.

(But it needs a card to play after you have drawn everything. Something like Goons or Giant or Courier even can work)

Dominion Online at Shuffle iT / Re: Monastery + Sewers
« on: January 21, 2019, 04:58:15 pm »
On turn 14 it seemed to work fine.... (And I trashed in play)

Dominion Online at Shuffle iT / Re: Monastery + Sewers
« on: January 21, 2019, 04:57:10 pm »

On turn 12 it let me do it for the first time. I think what I did differently was trashing a card in my had rather than in play. But Sewers doesn't say anything about "in play"

Still not sure what's going on....

Dominion Online at Shuffle iT / Monastery + Sewers
« on: January 21, 2019, 04:55:15 pm »
Is there a reason I can't Sewers after using Monastery?

I don't see why not from the card text. Is it an error on DominionOnline or am I missing something?

Game number: Game #22660523



Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Card Tokens?
« on: January 03, 2019, 12:13:20 pm »
I think one difference between card tokens and action/coin tokens is that you want the extra card right now far more often.

It's easy to have no use for an extra coin right now... it's common to want to buy something that costs less than what you produced. Whether that's because you produced more than this turn when you're into the Province-buying part of the game; or you simply produced buy would rather have a cost than a Gold.

Similarly, with actions; it's plenty likely that you produce more actions than you can play; based on not having terminals in your hand.

But with +cards; unless you have already drawn your deck, then you are almost always going to want those cards right away. Or at the very least; you will always want them at the start of your next turn. So I think +card tokens will end up acting more like Wharf or Haunted Woods.

You are definitely more likely to use them right away, but not always. Having a bigger hand at the start of the turn can be really useful.

It is also handy if you don't want to trigger a re-shuffle

But you are right - the delta between +cards and +card tokens is not as big as +actions/coins and +action/coin tokens

Variants and Fan Cards / Play all your cards
« on: January 03, 2019, 11:49:18 am »
An idea I had while out for a run yesterday. Something like this:
You may play any number of action cards that do not use "+cards" in their text

Set aside any number of cards from your hand
Play them one by one until all have been played

I was thinking about some version of Black Market or Storyteller but for actions.

Would something like that work?

Too cheap?

Variants and Fan Cards / Card Tokens?
« on: January 03, 2019, 11:41:01 am »
It's the obvious missing one. (Buy tokens do not seem very interesting)

Simple cards that might work:

+3 card tokens

+2 card tokens

+1 action
+1 card token

Is it too slow (card decisions take longer I think than coins and actions)?

It doesn't seem too powerful?

Obviously there are more complicated cards out there.

I assume someone has thought of this and there is a thread somewhere?

Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Start your turn with three empty piles
« on: October 04, 2018, 03:52:28 pm »
Buy Donate with two empty piles. Trash Catacombs with Donate, gaining the last card in a third pile with Catacombs' on-trash effect.


In a real game I emptied Golds in a similar way (for MArketSqaure). I thought the game would end. I was pretty surprised when the other guy got another turn....

Puzzles and Challenges / Start your turn with three empty piles
« on: October 03, 2018, 02:55:20 pm »
Just what it says.

We know there are ways to empty three piles but still give your opponent a turn (Page, Peasant, Ambassador, Encampment)

This is not that because they still start their turn with a max of two empty piles.

How do you have them start their turn with three empty piles?

Dominion General Discussion / Re: Interview with Donald X.
« on: June 26, 2018, 12:57:22 pm »
While we're talking about art, why is the art for Ruined Village a ruined looking Walled Village? That was a promo so the vast majority of Dominion players will never have played the card and they won't make the connection. Why not, you know... just a ruined version of Village?
That was something Jay did. Note though that Village does appear on Pillage in the same set (and on Scrying Pool). So he may have just been avoiding doing two callbacks to Village at once.

Maybe Ruined Village should have been:

"+1 Action. If you have less than 3 actions in play you may put this back on your deck"

[I know why this is wrong. In so many ways]

I'm not entirely sure what you mean with your new case, but I guess you mean it's not worth building an engine because you can't consistently play enough payload cards.

But my point is that there are also cases where you want to and can play payload cards as often as possible, but the only or main way of getting cards is buying them with coins from Silver and Gold. So you want the engine. I don't think that's so uncommon. Or even cases where there are Action-based coins and/or gainers, but also Silver/Gold gainers that you use in addition, to get more buying/gaining power quicker.
My point is that if you want Gold/Silver in your deck, then the engine you can build isn't usually very good. So often you might be able to build an engine, but some form of BM is better.

I don't think I ever* build engines where I want Gold/Silver gainers if there is no TfB. That's just asking for your engine to stall.

*slightly exaggerated

Ok, then that just seems pretty wrong to me. If there is trashing and attacks (and actions and draw), then I usually want an engine even if the only way to gain cards is through buying them with silver and gold. Lack of +buy might make me want to reconsider, but not always.

Does an attack not could as a "payload", or does "payload" only mean $$s?

(i.e., could Hag or Familiar be a "payload" that you want to make sure you play a lot with an engine - but need gold for $$s?)

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 26

Page created in 0.085 seconds with 18 queries.