Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - Carline

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 20
1
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest Discussion
« on: April 16, 2022, 04:29:17 pm »
Is it frowned upon to submit more than one entry to a contest? If I think I have two ideas both worth consideration, should I post them both?

I don't think so. You can see the rules in this link, from first contest:

http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=18987.0

2



In contest 96 I already submited a card with this name and picture. This one is a version I posted in my set Venus thread right after that, which is, however, very different from that contest version.

3
Have fun! With trashing historically always feeling like a very permanent act in Dominion, things like Fortress, Graverobber, and Lurker broke my brain when they were released, and I love the way they change up the game. There's a variety of directions people can go this week and I'm excited to see your designs!

One thing that would be fun to see is the cards submited in this contest in the same Kingdom.

4


Quote
Servants' Quarters $1
Victory
0VP
----
Setup: Add an additional Kingdom card pile of Duchies and another of Estates. Each player takes Well Served.
Quote
Well Served
State
When you buy a Victory card, gain a cheaper Victory card. When scoring, 1% per 2 Servants' Quarters you have (round up).

A Victory card essentially worth .5 VP. The Victory card has the setup rules, the State each player takes has the scoring and in game rules that make you gain a cheaper Victory card whenever you buy a Victory card. Using the state makes it so I did not have to cram so many rules on a single card. Feedback is appreciated.

I think Well Served would better if it is "you may gain...", as it changes game for all players even if they don't buy Servants' Quarters. In general, I would not want to gain a Estate when I buy a Duchy, it's less VPs per card in average. It would also soften consequences for 3-pile, as it would make not automatic the Border Village effect to all Victories.

5
Wheel of Time - a rotating split pile

Rules:

1. Wheel of Time cards may only play and rotate the Action cards set aside during setup in front of each player
2. Rotating or swapping the set-aside cards means moving them from one person to another. The cards remain set-aside. There may be only one set-aside card for Wheel of Time cards to play in front of each player at any time.


$3 Action - Command - Wheel of Time: Bowl of the Winds
Play the set-aside card in front of you, leaving it there.
You may rotate the Wheel of Time pile.
-
Setup: Set aside a different unused Action in front of each player.


$4 Action - Command - Wheel of Time: Saidin
+1 Action
Play the set-aside card in front of you, leaving it there.
Rotate the set-aside cards clockwise.


$5 Action - Command - Wheel of Time: Saidar
+$2
Play the set-aside card in front of you, leaving it there.
Rotate the set-aside cards counterclockwise.


$6 Action - Command - Wheel of Time: Aes Sedai
+1 Buy
You may swap your set-aside card for someone else's.
Play the set-aside card in front of you, leaving it there.
You may play it again.

I think the instruction "Rotate" has already a defined meaning in Dominion, so maybe would be better to use another verb to avoid some potential confusion

6





Updated to make Foreign card piles have 8 copies, so, to Foreign Lands worth 5VPs in a 2 player game, you have to win both splits. Also add that Foreign cards pile don't count to end game, because they make easier to 3-pile, specially in multiplayer game.  Foreign Lands itself counts. I'm also updating original post.




7



UPDATE: Updated to make Foreign card piles have 8 copies, so, to Foreign Lands worth 5VPs in a 2 player game, you have to win both splits. Also add that Foreign cards pile don't count to end game, because they make easier to 3-pile, specially in multiplayer game.  Foreign Lands itself counts.






8

Quote
Enlist Committee • Ally
At the start of your turn, you may spend a Favor to move your cube to a set-aside Ally for it applies for you. Setup: Set aside three random Allies and give each player a cube.

I think this smooths out a lot of the issues you were having with first player moving, cards too good, etc. This is, however, going to feel real bad in four-player where one person just doesn't get an ally, and also maybe in 3p with Plateau Shepherds, League of Bankers, or Gang of Pickpockets. A more reasonable version might be "At the start of your turn, you may spend a Favor to remove one of the set aside Allies. If only one remains, swap this with it." which sort of brings in an election process but doesn't 100% hose player four.
I think, with the project cubes, this was meant to allow more than one player choosing the same Ally.

Yes, more than one player may choose the same Ally and may move to another at the start of their turn if they want.

9

New version:




10


Updated to include a ban process in setup to avoid broken Allies.

I would like to know if setup instructions really need to be on the card or could be somewhere else. The latter would be better.

For anyone other than the best Dominion players, this version will make setup far too time-consuming and is unlikely to be fun. Most players take a while to read the Kingdom cards and landscapes and think of their strategy before starting play. They won't want to read all 23 Allies, consider their power level on the current board, and decide what to ban.

You are right. I will change to a different ban process.

11


I think this idea I had about Landmarks could apply to Allies.
There are so many games where the first player just sets aside Peaceful Cult and wins. I think it should cost at least 2 Favors so you can't use it turn 1. But even then it's very problematic (and Importer exists).

Yes, I'm already thinking about a solution for the very strong Allies.



Updated to include a ban process in setup to avoid broken Allies.

I would like to know if setup instructions really need to be on the card or could be somewhere else. The latter would be better.

12


I think this idea I had about Landmarks could apply to Allies.
There are so many games where the first player just sets aside Peaceful Cult and wins. I think it should cost at least 2 Favors so you can't use it turn 1. But even then it's very problematic (and Importer exists).

Yes, I'm already thinking about a solution for the very strong Allies.

13
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Fan Mechanics Week #33: Trial By Fire
« on: March 30, 2022, 07:32:21 pm »


Quote
Relocate - Action - $2
+1 Card
+1 Action
-
: +1 Action and +$1

A simple card, that just replaces itself, until you're ready to burn it. Sometimes you'll want to do that to make it a Village (hence the relocate theme), sometimes a Peddler. In a way, it's a Villager / Coffers combo.

Feedback always welcome. (and encouraged!)

I think it gives you once pratically what Coin of the Realm could give you every other turn. I suggest add something to on play effect.

14


I think this idea I had about Landmarks could apply to Allies.



UPDATE: NEW VERSION


15
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Really bad card ideas
« on: March 29, 2022, 11:01:19 pm »
good with transport

Which makes it even worse design.

16


You can spend 4 Favors for your buy token, 5 favors for your $1 or action token...

Feedback is appreciated.

Maybe wouldn't be good to put Teacher restriction of one token per pile?

17
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Fan Mechanics Week #33: Trial By Fire
« on: March 29, 2022, 07:57:17 pm »
May you trigger burn abilitie during an action playing before it be fully resolved?

18





I like it. Having in mind what it does, the one with the guitar is Prince.

19
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Really bad card ideas
« on: March 28, 2022, 12:29:08 am »


20
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #146: Contacts
« on: March 23, 2022, 08:28:32 pm »


The Acting Troupe of favors, kinda. Sometimes lots of favors at once wont be too great.  Sometimes this could be pretty awesome. $3 might be too cheap?

If this is the only card on Kingdom with a different type from the standard ones (Victory, Action, Treasure, Curse), you wouldn't be able to activate it if you trash your 3 starting Estates, are not beeing cursed and still don't start greening. Is it a intended downside?

Edit: supposing that Kingdom also don't have Alt-VP.

Doesn't seem to be a problem to me.  If you're trashing your Estates, you're probably not buying this card.  If you're planning to buy this card, don't trash your Estates.  The presence or absence of a good trasher might determine whether you include this card in your strategy.  But even so, you probably still do want some trashing to increase the likelihood of it working.

Saying this card isn't good if you trash your Estates would be similar to arguing that Baron isn't good if you trash your Estates, in my opinion.

I didn't say it was good or not when trash Estates, there's no evalution on my comment, I just asked if this feauture is intended. I called it downside because it is a limitation.

21
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #146: Contacts
« on: March 22, 2022, 06:12:10 pm »


The Acting Troupe of favors, kinda. Sometimes lots of favors at once wont be too great.  Sometimes this could be pretty awesome. $3 might be too cheap?

If this is the only card on Kingdom with a different type from the standard ones (Victory, Action, Treasure, Curse), you wouldn't be able to activate it if you trash your 3 starting Estates, are not beeing cursed and still don't start greening. Is it a intended downside?

Edit: supposing that Kingdom also don't have Alt-VP.

22
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #146: Contacts
« on: March 18, 2022, 10:27:16 pm »
Unless the village belongs to a woman named Allie, this should be "Ally's Village."

Fixed. Thank you!

A question about English (you know, it's not my language): This name (Ally's Village) would be the same if I'm refering to a Village of only one ally or a village of many allies? In portuguese we would say "Vila do Aliado" in the first case and "Vila dos Aliados" in the second.

If that's your intention, then I think you'd basically have to name it "Village of Allies." "Ally's Village" means a village belonging to an ally, and "Allies' Village" would be a village belonging to multiple allies.

I want to mean  a village belonging to multiple allies, so I will change again, to "Allies' Village". Thank you!

23
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #146: Contacts
« on: March 18, 2022, 09:56:15 pm »
Unless the village belongs to a woman named Allie, this should be "Ally's Village."

Fixed. Thank you!

A question about English (you know, it's not my language): This name (Ally's Village) would be the same if I'm refering to a Village of only one ally or a village of many allies? In portuguese we would say "Vila do Aliado" in the first case and "Vila dos Aliados" in the second.

24
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #146: Contacts
« on: March 18, 2022, 08:41:45 pm »


UPDATE: Edited to fix name. Thanks Gubump.



25

Celebration (Action – Reserve)
+1 Card
+1 Action
Put this on your Tavern mat.
-----
When you gain a Victory card, you may call this, to exile that card.
First of all, I want to say this: welcome back! We missed you around here! :P

Second of all, thank you. For crafting such a simple, elegant, useful and beautiful card. I immediately see the uses of this card, and it’s totally worth existing. Perhaps it fares a little poorly next to Sanctuary, but it’s definitely not strictly weaker. If Adventures and Menagerie had a lovechild, this would’ve definitely been it. Good card, I like it!

Thank you so much, X-tra! I missed you all too.

Congrats LibraryAdventurer, really cool card!

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 20

Page created in 0.147 seconds with 18 queries.