Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - MrSir712

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1]
1
Rules Questions / Playing Durations with Emulators
« on: April 25, 2020, 09:56:13 pm »
I am aware that if a card plays a Duraction card multiple times, that card stays out in play with the Duration (e.g. Throne Room+Merchant Ship). What happens if an Emulator plays a Duration?

I own Empires, which has the card Overlord, whose wording does not reflect the errata. My family and I simply play the Overlord by its old wording, since we own no other Command cards, so we assumed it would play as it normally would when playing the errata'd version. If something referred to Overlord's types, we simply made sure to include Command.

But after looking back we realized, wait, there is something different. Overlord plays a card and leaves it in the Supply. What we had been doing was obeying the rules as if Overlord was the card. For instance, if I play Overlord as Archive, Overlord would stay out in play with the set aside cards; it was an Archive. What would I do with the new errata'd Overlord? If I play Overlord on an Archive in the Supply, do the set-aside cards go on the Archive in the Supply? Do I set them aside elsewhere?

And in general, when an emulated card refers to itself, what happens? I play Overlord+Mining Village, I choose to trash "it"; do I trash a Mining Village from the Supply, trash the Overlord, or trash nothing at all and get no +$2? The wiki pages are doing no good for me.

2
I have no subscription and I have absolutely no problem matching with Golds pressing "Wait for Expansions". The most I've had to wait is like 5 minutes.

3
Rules Questions / Re: Militia rule change
« on: March 15, 2020, 09:46:06 pm »
It only makes sense for it to be all at once. If you discarded the cards individually, one at a time, that would mean your opponent would get to see each card that was discarded.

If Militia makes you discard two cards, then you discard one, and it is now the top card of your discard pile, meaning your opponent should have been able to know what it is. It doesn't matter if it is on top or not in the end.

The rules state that the top card of your discard pile is visible at any time, and game logs always log the names of cards that happen to be on top after each discarding. Now if each card was discarded individually, they would each at some point be on top of the discard pile, and therefore each card discarded should be, by that logic, able to be discovered. But according to the rules (and Dominion online) that is not the case which is why cards are to be discarded simultaneously (with the discarding having been fully resolved) before resolving other things, such as Tunnel.

Dominion online is not a source of rules, though. They usually get these obscure rules right, but not always. They could have it implemented wrong.

Of course, but as I see no evidence to the contrary I am giving the online implementation the benefit of the doubt. But my original point was that following basic logic: out of any group of cards that is discarded, the one which appears on the top of the discard pile must be visible. Now if the cards are discarded individually there are no groups (as the only card in each "group" is the one being individually discarded) and as such each player in any physical game has the right to demand the names of each card discarded individually, and that is absurd.

4
Rules Questions / Re: Militia rule change
« on: March 15, 2020, 09:17:28 pm »
It only makes sense for it to be all at once. If you discarded the cards individually, one at a time, that would mean your opponent would get to see each card that was discarded.

If Militia makes you discard two cards, then you discard one, and it is now the top card of your discard pile, meaning your opponent should have been able to know what it is. It doesn't matter if it is on top or not in the end.

The rules state that the top card of your discard pile is visible at any time, and game logs always log the names of cards that happen to be on top after each discarding. Now if each card was discarded individually, they would each at some point be on top of the discard pile, and therefore each card discarded should be, by that logic, able to be discovered. But according to the rules (and Dominion online) that is not the case which is why cards are to be discarded simultaneously (with the discarding having been fully resolved) before resolving other things, such as Tunnel.

5
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Menagerie Bonus Previews
« on: March 09, 2020, 08:37:30 am »
Bonus Preview 3: Village Green

The party's over! If not now, then soon, the previews will go down from dominion.games, and you will have to wait for the release to see them again - still estimated at March 18. Yet I soldier on. Today, another Reaction card.



Village Green is the Barge village, and also the Tunnel village. If you discard it when it's not your turn, take the "next" option, that's my advice; +Actions do not do much good when it's not your turn. As with Tunnel it doesn't have to be in your hand, it can be flipped over by a Fortune Teller or whatever. It even works when discarded from the Exile mat.

It's interesting that all the Reactions revealed so far in Menagerie are played rather than revealed, discarded, or set-aside.  So, now I'm wondering if the two we haven't seen yet will also be played

So, of the reactions revealed so far, we have three different triggers: when you gain a card, when someone else gains a victory card, and now when you discard.  I wonder if all five reactions will have different triggers

I believe he said on day 5 that four out of the five Reactions play themselves.

6
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Menagerie Bonus Previews
« on: March 08, 2020, 08:12:36 pm »
I'm going to use Way of the Rat on my Workshop, please and thank you.

Also, could we see a Duration or Reaction?

7
Dominion FAQ / Action-Victories
« on: January 10, 2020, 11:34:39 pm »
This is not a rules question, just to address those of you who like answering rules questions.

Instead I'm asking about one of the things that has come in when exploring all of the official cards, and that's that there are only two sets with Action-Victory cards: Intrigue and Empires. Now, Distant Lands from Adventures is Action-Victory-Reserve, but its Action part is hardly significant to any more than one play of the game.

I feel like there's so much ground left to be covered on the front of Action-Victory cards, and I'd be delighted to see more. For instance, why not try a Peddler variant with 2VP tagged on it; price it at $6. That's one of my favorite parts about Intrigue, and it's what makes the Castles from Empires so much fun, because they're Victory cards that do other things.

Is there any issue I'm missing with the creation of lots of these Victory cards? Does it raise certain dilemmas? There may be something I'm missing here, or perhaps it was just designed that way with no specific outlook on that type. I don't know. It'd be nice to know, though, so what are your thoughts?

8
Dominion FAQ / Re: Enchantress
« on: January 10, 2020, 11:30:13 pm »
The text on Enchantress begins "Until your next turn, the first time each other player plays an Action card on their turn ..." - is there a particular reason for the "on their turn" wording?  It seems redundant to me, because when could you possibly play a card not on your turn?  The only time you could do something not on your turn would be a reaction, but unless I'm mistaken, a reaction isn't considered "playing an action", is it?  So, am I missing something that makes that phrasing relevant?

Oh, wait, never mind.  I just realized, that's relevant to things like Outpost that allow you to take a second turn.  Without the "on their turn" clause Enchantress wouldn't affect that second turn

Well you see, there's another issue with all of this. If Enchantress says "Until your next turn, the first time each other plays an Action card, it does +1 Card, +1 Action" then there would be some major issues, because then Enchantress would imply that the first Action played by each opponent in the entire game would be that way, and well, that doesn't make much sense on a card.

9
Dominion General Discussion / Dominion: Empires Format
« on: January 09, 2020, 11:47:12 pm »
So I know that Empires was the first set released under the Second Edition format, but it seems like certain cards, for example Gladiator, donít have the same large text as other cards, even though it looks like it could very easily have larger text. Also, comparing the vanilla parts of Settlers to other such cards shows that the bold text is a lot larger than bold text on other cards with Vanilla bonuses. Is this an inconsistency with other Second Edition designs, or did I just get an early print that happened to be different?

10
Rules Questions / Crown + Small Castle
« on: December 17, 2019, 10:29:33 pm »
When I use Crown (or Throne Room I guess) on Small Castle, is it possible to use the "trash this" option both the first and second time playing it to gain the next two Castles?

If not, why? What I want to know is if either of these (hypothetical) rules apply here:
  • Crown "loses track" of Small Castle when it trashes itself?
  • Small Castle cannot trash itself for benefit when it's already in the trash?

Pages: [1]

Page created in 0.161 seconds with 19 queries.