Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - dpm

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1]
2
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Dominion: Urbanisation
« on: September 23, 2020, 11:52:26 am »
You could Kiln a Colony.  That's pretty cool. 

It's OK that a Traveller line isn't always a must-buy.  Not everything has to be Teacher/Champion. 

3
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Dominion: Urbanisation
« on: September 22, 2020, 10:46:11 pm »
What happens if you Throne Room a Statue? 

What does Monarch do to Nobles or Mill? 

4
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Can you win this turn 7 (Hinterlands)
« on: July 18, 2020, 04:29:19 pm »
Your opponent has 1 Province, 1 Duchy, 2 Estates, and 3 Tunnels for 17 points. 

You have one action remaining.  Play BV.  Play Develop on Haggler, gaining BV and Trader to deck (BV on top), Silver (from BV) to discard pile. 

You have one action remaining again.  Play BV, drawing BV.  Play BV, drawing Trader.  Now you have 3 actions. 

Play one Trader on Gold, gaining 6 Silvers.  There are now 9 silvers left in the supply. 

Play Embassy, drawing 5 Silvers.  Discard 3 Tunnels, gaining Gold but using Trader to replace the Gold with Silver.  There are now 6 Silvers left in the supply. 

Play the other Trader on the other Gold, gaining the remaining Silvers. 

You have 5 Silvers in your hand and two buys, which you use for Duchy and Tunnel.  BV, Tunnel, and Silver piles are empty and you have 1 Province, 1 Duchy, 5 Tunnels for 19 points. 

5
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Can you win this turn 5 (Prosperity)
« on: July 01, 2020, 01:50:21 pm »
Well, nuts.

6
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Can you win this turn 5 (Prosperity)
« on: July 01, 2020, 01:38:22 pm »
Yet another (very minor) correction: I was wrong, playing WV does not get you an extra VP -- you can only buy 4 coppers since there are only 4 left in the supply!


7
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Can you win this turn 5 (Prosperity)
« on: July 01, 2020, 10:54:39 am »
Another solution that also reaches 77:

1. Discard any two non-vault cards (+2$) [9 cards left]
2. Play Vault, draw those two, discard everything except Watchtower (+7$) [8 cards left]
3. Play Watchtower draw all cards but WV* [6 cards in hand]
2. Play KC-Goons (+6$, +3buys) [4 cards in hand]
4. Play Forge on Mint, gain Duchy (+3VP) [2 cards in hand]
6. Play Bishop on Counterfeit (+1$, +3VP) [0 cards in hand]

-- End Action phase. You have 16$ and 7 buys.--

 Buy 2*Province, 5*Copper (+19VP)

Game ends because Provinces are out. TOTAL: 52+25=77 VP

*if it's not WV, play WV, draw final card; now you can buy one more copper and end up with 78 VP.


You are using too many actions, no?  There's only 4 left at the beginning. 

Although if you discard 3 at the beginning, draw one with WV and then do the rest of your plan, I think you get the same amount of money, and you guarantee the one extra buy for an extra VP from goons.

8
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Can you win this turn 4 (Alchemy)
« on: June 19, 2020, 10:52:51 am »


I don't know why the player would have bought 9 curses themselves either, but I do suppose with the way I worded the puzzle, it would be a possibility. I hadn't intended for that to be an option (I suppose you could have bought all 9 curses and intentionally not played any Familiars you had drawn in previous turns...), so good catch! If you assume the opponent has the 9 curses and all Provinces, as far as I can tell, the one and only one hand you could draw that would not let you win the game is what you said, 4 Vineyards, 9 Transmutes, and 2 Universities. Using the mathematical equation for combinations, we can find the maximum likelihood of that scenario as one over the total combinations of 15 card hands out of a deck of 26 (the minimum number of cards you could have in the puzzle, if you bought anything extra (like extra golds), the odds are even less likely). The total number of combinations are = 26!/(15!11!) = 7,726,160. So, one out of every 7.7 billion times you are placed in this situation, you will be unable to win. 

Not quite, you could also draw 14 of those 15 cards, plus Apothecary, and then play Apothecary and draw only the 15th stop card.  Or it could be Familiar instead, though that at least would give out the last curse.  Or maybe some combination of Apos and Familiars...

9
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Fleet vs Seize the Day
« on: March 25, 2020, 01:33:03 pm »
Maybe it's to give players more of a possibility of taking the extra turn early in the game? 

10
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Menagerie Bonus Previews
« on: March 08, 2020, 04:29:52 pm »
I really like how well-balanced these Ways seem, a lot of thought must have gone into them. Like, you're usually not going to use them most of the time you're playing an action, but they still add something interesting to a game.

Turtle, Chameleon, and Rat are extra cool here. With all Ways; thereís an interesting balance problem to solve... the Way can be used with an action that cost $2, or with an action that cost $5. So it canít give a $5 strength effect; otherwise itís way too good when used with a $2 cost action. But those three (so far) give you a better effect when you use a better card with it. Whereas the other 2 revealed Ways give you the same effect no matter what; making them much better if used with a worse/cheaper action.

I kind of feel it would be even more interesting if you could only use a Way once per turn.  You couldn't Turtle your Chapel away as an effective Exile forever, unless you wanted to forgo using it on another action card.  (It would also save on some really annoying clicking, "No, I don't want to reconsider whether I want to use the Way on this card".)

11
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Menagerie Previews 1: 5 Cards
« on: March 02, 2020, 06:03:41 pm »
d plays a Throne Room.
  d plays a Kiln.
    d gets +$2.
  d plays a Kiln again.
    d gains a Kiln.
       d reacts with a Sheepdog.
       d plays a Sheepdog.
       d draws a Sentry and a Kiln.
    d gets +$2.


 I wasn't prompted as to whether I want to gain a Sheepdog.  Should I have been?

12
Dominion Online at Shuffle iT / Re: AIís whims
« on: October 12, 2019, 04:18:26 pm »
L plays a Laboratory.
L draws 2 cards.
L gets +1 Action.
L plays a Chapel.
L trashes 2 Curses and 2 Provinces.
L plays a Silver. (+$2)
L shuffles their deck.
L draws 5 cards.

Can't have those victory cards clogging up your deck!

13
Rules Questions / Re: Shepherd draws more Victory Points
« on: December 17, 2018, 09:38:07 pm »

In general, you play a card, you resolve its text in order, and then that card stops doing stuff. Resolving Shepherd in order means you o through the steps, and the steps as detailed on the card are:

1. discard Victory cards
2. draw 2 cards per discarded card.

So you first discard. Then you go to 2, drawing cards. You cannot go back to 1 again, since you already finished resolving that part. Thus you may not discard any of the Victory cards that you drew.

... but, interestingly enough, you could draw some of the Victory cards that you discarded. 

14
Solo Challenges / Re: Minimum Possible Points (without Wall)
« on: November 24, 2018, 09:52:26 am »
...
7. Leprechaun brings 2 uniques (wish, again otherwise have to trash something unrecoverable) and can give you twice miserable.
8./9. lurker and necromancer bring in 5 total uniques for an average of 2.5

As far as I can remember, no other card brings in more than 3 uniques not already covered (except castles, which counters itself with VP). So add in a 2 unique pile of choice.
...

I just stumbled on this thread.  I think you're missing one possibility here: Replace Leprechaun and your last 2-unique pile with Vampire and Secret Cave.  Vampire gets you Bat and can give you twice miserable.  Secret Cave gives you Magic Lamp.  There's also a pile of Wishes.  That's one more unique. 

You are about to argue that you don't want to get a Wish by trashing the Lamp, since you can't get your Lamp back.  This is quite true.  Don't trash your Lamp.  However, your opponent can trash her Lamp and get Wishes, and then trash a Wish, which you can use Lurker to gain. 

Pages: [1]

Page created in 0.068 seconds with 19 queries.