Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - scolapasta

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 136
1
Rules Questions / Re: Lantern, Elder, Harbor Village, Moat
« on: January 31, 2023, 09:32:19 pm »
- Enchantress + Highwayman
-- Your choice!
...
- Highwayman + Way of the Sheep
-- Your choice!
- Highwayman + Way of the Chameleon
-- Your choice!

Can I ask why you get a choice in these cases? I'm not sure if you saw when i had first asked about this ruling, but:

It does lead me to a specific question on Highwayman, however:

Is the official ruling for Highwayman that you can play a Way (on an action-Treasure) in order to avoid its attack?

I ask because it's wording doesn't specify "the card's instructions". It just says:
Quote
Until then, the first Treasure each other player plays each turn does nothing

For me, the naturally interpretation would be that you wouldn't be able to choose any set of instructions (not even Enchantress), because that would be doing something.

2
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Fan Mechanics Week 55: Jewelry
« on: January 30, 2023, 05:02:33 pm »
First, let me say, thanks for picking a mechanic I designed for this contest.

I think there are some interesting designs in this thread, and also some good feedback on the overall concept.

In the original thread where I had posted this, I had added some of my own commentary at the time:

One challenge with the Jewelry mechanic (and any new mechanic, of course) is making sure that the same or similar effect can't be equally or more effectively achieved with existing mechanics.

A regular treasure with a "while this is in play, cards that share a type with cards you've bought this turn cost $1 less", while not the same, might be similar enough to what Bracelet is trying to do.
 
Hmm, now I'm wondering about the other cards:
Earrings compares to a regular treasure that said "When you play this, the next time you buy a card this turn, +$2 and gain a silver.", but that's different enough - you'd be able to spend the first $2 on the first buy and then get the $2 (and silver). Earrings on the other hand is one or the other - play it first for the $2 with no bonus, or buy something without it, then get all $4. So it feels like a good use of the mechanic, I think.

(though I might still remove the "then play any number of treasures" , just letting you play the silver. And have a new card with
+ Cards based on cards you've bought and then play any number of treasures...)

Ring (as a hybrid Treasure - Night type mechanic) and Necklace (limitation only if you play as a regular treasure) also show that there's some versatility for this mechanic.

So I agree that, one of the challenges of this mechanic is the design space - you need just the right mix for it to not just be a Treasure card or a Night card. Personally, I think Treasure-Jewelry makes the most sense, since part of what I think made these special is the tension between playing it at the start of your buy phase for the $ and having to wait until you've bought something first, reducing the amount you have for one big purchase.

The other thing I tried to do in order to make (some of) my designs be different from Night is to allow them to play Treasures that you gained (Earrings letting you play the Silver) or drew in your buy phase (Jewelry Box letting you play any Treasures from your hand).

One good thing that have changed since I originally posted these is that official Treasures no longer specify "when you play this" on Treasures, so that's a nice cleanup (as we can see with this week's entries).


3
Rules Questions / Re: Lantern, Elder, Harbor Village, Moat
« on: January 29, 2023, 12:30:47 pm »
I think dane-m's "instructions on following instructions" are looking good. And it only get complicated because the first 3 are conditional on a specific card being in the kingdom. And that makes sense, since you're specifying a specific instruction defined by the specific card. I could imagine trying to phrase it more generically as:

[Available only if the card is subject to an an effect that tells you to not follow its instruction] the specified effect.

But since we're trying to understand how all the interactions work together, it is nice to see spelled out.

It does lead me to a specific question on Highwayman, however:

Is the official ruling for Highwayman that you can play a Way (on an action-Treasure) in order to avoid its attack?

I ask because it's wording doesn't specify "the card's instructions". It just says:
Quote
Until then, the first Treasure each other player plays each turn does nothing

For me, the naturally interpretation would be that you wouldn't be able to choose any set of instructions (not even Enchantress), because that would be doing something.

4
Rules Questions / Re: Lantern, Elder, Harbor Village, Moat
« on: January 28, 2023, 04:48:46 pm »
So does anyone have a suggestion for a short, not necessarily technical, description of what Ways, Enchantress and Reckless actually do - so that Harbor Village and Moat work as intended? (Of course without mentioning Harbor Village or Moat.)

Using "give" doesn't work, since Moat doesn't say that, but I guess something with "make you"?
I have to confess that I am now somewhat unclear on how things are supposed to work.  No doubt buried within this thread there is all the necessary information, but the occasional reference to changed rulings means I'm far from convinced that I could identify the information even if I could winnow it out from the lengthy debates about what exactly various words ought to mean.  I had therefore been intending to ask to what extent, if any, the approach described below gives the right results.  If miraculously it gives all the right results, consider it an answer (though one that almost certainly be improved) to your request.  If as is more likely it doesn't, ignore it, though it would be helpful to my grasp of the various rulings if you'd point out which ones it gets wrong.  I'm particularly worried about the interaction between Reckless and Enchantress.

Playing a card consists of following a set of instructions.  Usually there is only one possible set of instructions, but sometimes there is more than one, in which case the player can choose which to follow.

One option is the instructions written on the card.  This option is not available if the card has the Reckless trait or one is subject to an Enchantress attack.

A second option is the instructions on a Way (or in the case of Way of Chameleon, the instructions on the card after rewriting as directed).  This is only available if there is a Way in the game.

A third option is +1 card, +1 action.  This is only available if one is subject to an Enchantress attack.

A fourth option is the instructions written on the card followed by the instructions written on the card.  This is only available if the card has the Reckless trait.  (Does this also require "and one is not subject to an Enchantress attack"?)

The problem is that saying that all those things are the card's instructions means that Ways/Ench/Highw/Reckless will work on a card to which Ways/Ench/Highw has already been applied. In short, applying Enchantress and then Chameleon will produce +$1 and +1 Action, applying Chameleon and then Enchantress will produce +1 Card and +1 Action, applying Enchantress and then Reckless will produce +1 Card and +1 Action twice, applying Sheep and then Reckless will produce +$2 twice. None of that is according to current rulings. But your explanation is pretty much what I've been advocating.

I'll try to write a summary of the rulings one of the upcoming days.

(Reckless does not substitute the instructions like the others, it horns in after you have followed them once and makes you do it an extra time.)

Thanks @dane-m for your post, I was thinking of doing something similar - and with a similar caveat of not being sure if it agreed with all the rulings as they've happened.

The one thing I'd add (and why I replied to @jeebus's post) is that when something refers to a card's instructions it's specifically refers to the first option, that is the instructions written on the card. The others are others instructions that are followed when playing the card, and whose effects are attributed to playing the card, but not the card's instructions themselves.

I think this last part is where jeebus has been getting stuck on (correct me if I'm wrong) but to me it makes sense. (and as I suggested earlier I think follows naturally from how the Ways refer to "this" meaning the played card, and not the Way itself)

5
Rules Questions / Re: Lantern, Elder, Harbor Village, Moat
« on: January 06, 2023, 04:54:42 pm »
I hesitate to get in the middle of all this, but one thing to notice (which I don't think has been mentioned, unless I missed it) is how the text on Ways is written - they* refer to "this" and "this card". In other words that text doesn't refer to the Way, but to the card being played as the Way. Which to me fits with the ruling that playing a card as a way is something the card does, unlike enchantress and adventure tokens.

* well, those that have a reference; obviously, Ways like Way of the Ox, that are just "+2 Cards" don't refer to "this"

Really hoping that doesn't muddy anything...

6
Dominion Online at Shuffle iT / Re: Harbor Village + Villa bug
« on: December 27, 2022, 03:36:27 am »
I had a game where I'd played a Harbor Village. After that, I did not play any Action cards that gave me +$1 during my Action phase. In my Buy phase, I bought a Villa, which returned me to my Action phase and I played the Villa. However, I did not get the extra +$1 from Harbor Village. But Harbor Village does not say "during this Action phase", it says "during this turn", so even though it was a new Action phase, I still should've gotten the extra +$1

Game #113811926 on tokyo.

When your say "After that, I did not play any Action cards that gave me +$1 during my Action phase” does that you mean you did play any action cards after harbor village (but before buying and playing villa)? If so, harbor village would be looking at the first of those actions.

7
Dominion Online at Shuffle iT / Re: Foray is broken
« on: December 27, 2022, 03:32:53 am »
Foray doesn't seem to work properly. When I buy it, it often does not discard my top three cards, even when I have more than three cards in my drawpile, sometimes it'll only discard one or two cards, and sometimes it won't discard anything at all, not even giving me the chance to try for a Loot

Doesn't foray expect you to discard from your hand? I haven't actually played with it, but generally "discard" without a location specified is from your hand.

8
Bury seems interesting to me in that it's mostly the equivalent of Order of the Astrologers*, costing a coin instead of a favor, except:
• you can't buy a card and then use it on that card, unless you have +buys from elsewhere
• some advanced techniques where you might move a card to the bottom, in order to prevent a shuffle, thereby getting your current (or next hand) into the discard first

* Since putting a card on the bottom of your deck is similar to being on the top of your deck after a shuffle

9
Forum Games / Re: M139 - Godfather Mafia - 3 spots left!!
« on: November 27, 2022, 09:00:26 pm »
An offer I cannot refuse... /in

10
Non-Mafia Game Threads / Re: Break the Code - Forum Version
« on: August 23, 2022, 09:52:09 am »
I could probably join in.

11
Rules Questions / Re: Inn and Patron
« on: August 19, 2022, 04:04:00 pm »
I think the way it works is that you look at them all, but then only reveal the ones you add to your deck.

Did you add the Patrons to your deck?

12
Had a game with Tent + Way of the Mouse being Secret Cave. You could use Secret Cave's duration, but then also topdeck Tent, so you'd get the duration effect without the card staying in play. Fortunately it was an online game, but in an IRL game, tracking would probably be pretty tricky. This would apply to any other Duration card as Mouse, and to Merchant Camp, Walled Village, and Border Guard with Horn (the other self-topdecking cards have the self-topdecking as part of their on-play effect, which would be replaced by Mouse's effect)

weird.  seems like you shouldn't be able to top deck it with the card moved thing or something.  this is kinda huge. thanks!

Actually it seems like it be a bug, since if you played as Way of the Mouse, you wouldn't discard it from play that turn (if you used Secret Cave's duration benefit). From the wiki:

Quote
If the set-aside card is a Duration, then a card played this Way will stay out as long as that Duration would

And Tent's below the line:

Quote
When you discard this from play, you may put it onto your deck.   

13
Definitely a crazy one for my first co-modding experience! :)

Interesting to be on the sidelines and know everything and watch it all fall apart for scum so quickly.

14
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #159: Some Nights
« on: August 02, 2022, 09:41:58 am »
I suggest reordering "a card costing up to $6 from the supply that was gained this turn" into "a card costing up to 6$ that was gained this turn from the supply"

Two points:
• I think all official cards say where to exile from so this technically would allow you to exile a card from somewhere other than the supply, no? This could probably be explained in the FAQ but is not consistent with the official cards.
• It's minor, but it is also functionally different, in that with the original of someone gains a card from the trash, you could exile a copy (from the supply); with the new wording you can't. Like I said, minor.

I think I'd suggest going with "a card from the supply costing up to $6 that was gained this turn" just reordering the "from the supply" and the "costing up to $6".

15
Vote Count 2.2
Every year across Africa, hippos kill an estimated 500 people, making them the world’s deadliest mammal, after humans, and nearly twice as deadly as lions.

MiX (2) : eddie, joth
Shraeye (2) : MiX, WCD
WCD (1) : Shraeye
 
Not voting (3) : EFHW, gkrieg, mathdude
 
Currently, MiX is set to be exiled! With 8 alive, it takes 5 to exile. Day 2 ends July 31, 2022, 03:10:00 pm your time.
 
Votes:

eddie→EFHW
eddie→unvote
eddie→MiX
MiX→Shraeye
joth→MiX
WCD→Shraeye
Shraeye→WCD

16
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Ways but for Treasures
« on: July 26, 2022, 04:48:29 pm »
I have played with this a little, but it's extremely challenging, especially because of the issue of starting with 7 Coppers.

I do think this is the big challenge with "Ways for Treasures."

Not exactly sure how this would impact things - i.e. you'd have to see how each of the above designs would have to change for this - but what if you had to spend a Buy to go down a Path? (or some cost, but using a buy fits with it being your buy phase / treasures)

So the original gold paved road (Trash this for $1) could work since also uses a buy.

In some ways this might make them too similar to events though? (I guess the different might be that they would all refer to "this" so it would be more of a variable costing event)


17
Vote Count 2.1
Remains of hippo have been found underneath Trafalgar Square.
MiX (1) : eddie
 
Not voting (7) : EFHW, gkrieg, joth, mathdude, MiX, Shraeye, WCD
 
Currently, MiX is set to be exiled! With 8 alive, it takes 5 to exile. Day 2 ends July 31, 2022, 03:10:00 pm your time.
 
Votes:

eddie→EFHW
eddie→unvote
eddie→MiX

18
not saying no to a helping hand if you want to help out :)

Sure, I can help mod if you want the help, or play if you need the extra player.

19
Do you need anyone else?

20
Non-Mafia Game Threads / Re: Codenames XIII
« on: July 09, 2022, 04:34:07 pm »
WOW.

gg and great job eevee and vidicate!

I have no idea how we managed to win here.

21
Non-Mafia Game Threads / Re: Codenames XIII
« on: July 09, 2022, 10:04:49 am »
I agree no more waiting for swowl, but would've preferred just guessing force here, as I'm not as convinced on staff.

I hope you're right.

22
Non-Mafia Game Threads / Re: Codenames XIII
« on: July 06, 2022, 09:07:09 pm »
I'm ok with locking in FORCE then, unless we want to let swowl with in.

Why STAFF?

23
Non-Mafia Game Threads / Re: Codenames XIII
« on: July 06, 2022, 04:06:29 pm »
While back haven't had a chance to review old clues and guesses,

but I think we liked FORCE for Mountie?

It could also be for veal, since they are forced to live in tiny spaces.

24
Non-Mafia Game Threads / Re: Codenames XIII
« on: July 06, 2022, 01:36:12 pm »
Sure: BABY

I'd say we can lock in COW too.

25
Non-Mafia Game Threads / Re: Codenames XIII
« on: July 06, 2022, 12:19:33 pm »
I am back now, i think - so should be able to be more active. Again. apologies that I misjudged how much time I would have while traveling. (I'm usually traveling for work, where it is easy (and fun) to find some time for this. Vacation travel - especially when it's a honeymoon! - is clearly different!)


Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 136

Page created in 0.054 seconds with 19 queries.