Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - MrFrog

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2
1
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #146: Contacts
« on: March 24, 2022, 05:31:09 am »
Also, @MrFrog, did you want to make a new entry (or tweak your first one)?

I'd love to, but I have no time at the moment, so I just withdraw my entry this time. Thanks for the feedback anyway!

2
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #146: Contacts
« on: March 17, 2022, 07:36:38 pm »
Are card-shaped things allowed? If so:



Quote
Way of the Seagull
Way - Liaison
Follow this card's instructions; each time that would give you +Buys this turn, you get +Favors instead, and vice-versa.

Chameleon's cousin. Technically the rules don't cover Liaison as a type for landscapes, of course. You should add an Ally when playing with it (if no Ally is drawn already). I could have made it a standard Way with dividing line and 'In games using this ...' clause, but I prefer this cleaner looking version.

Feedback is welcome!

3
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Dominion Card Image Generator
« on: March 15, 2022, 02:07:51 pm »


Does anybody have a clue how to fix the position of the coin text?
I use Firefox and the font is set to Minion Pro.

4
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Allies is online
« on: March 11, 2022, 10:44:51 am »
Technically you only have a Tavern mat at all if there's a Reserve card in the game, but that's not much of a reason.
That's not true. Miser uses the mat without being a Reserve.

5
Elder + Lurker. Makes Lurkers instantly gain any Action from the supply.

6
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Minor note about new printings
« on: August 26, 2021, 12:15:07 pm »
If memory serves, the German version of Empires always used cardboard. It was too expensive to produce otherwise.

This in incorrect, they changed it in the last printing.

I am quite happy that I own the original metal tokens, the new ones feel really cheap.

7
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Some Fan Card Games I've Played
« on: May 08, 2021, 03:36:35 pm »
Thanks for these reports! As someone who prints some fan cards every now and then, it's always helpful to read other opinios about new concepts.

8
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest Thread
« on: January 10, 2021, 02:14:38 pm »
I am updating my wording (thanks to gambit05 for the suggestion):

Quote
Setting Sail - $7D7
Event

Put 4 Wishes from their pile on your Pirate Ship mat. As long as there is at least one left: During Clean-up draw 1 card less, then put one of the Wishes into your hand.

9
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest Thread
« on: January 07, 2021, 02:20:05 pm »
Quote
Setting Sail - $7D7
Event

Put 4 Wishes from their pile on your Pirate Ship mat. As long as there is at least one left: During Clean-Up draw 1 card less for your hand and put one of the Wishes on your hand afterwards.

How did you manage to play with 4 players and only having 12 Wishes?

Before playing I was afraid this would be an issue, but in reality it is very unlikely that all four players buy the event in the same round, and usually you don't want to buy it two turns in a row, so the Wishes come back to their pile quite quickly.

10
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest Thread
« on: January 07, 2021, 09:30:45 am »
First time I enter the competition! This event is playtested a few times in 2 player and 4 player games and is quite interesting in my opinion. I happily take advice for a better (and maybe shorter) wording, English is not my first language.



Quote
Setting Sail - $7D7
Event

Put 4 Wishes from their pile on your Pirate Ship mat. As long as there is at least one left: During Clean-Up draw 1 card less for your hand and put one of the Wishes on your hand afterwards.

11
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: ALCHEMY 2
« on: July 27, 2020, 02:04:26 pm »
I have tested very carefully new alchemy cards starting with principality and county.

No offense, but if I remember correctly from the German forum, you test your fan cards with your wife. I believe you, when you say you two have a great time. And that's nice.

But other people have another level of experience. People who played many 1000 games online. They might have a different point of view based on many years of playing Dominion.

And another thing: When posting cards on a board like this, you have to accept that people judge your cards based on what's established in the game already. If you make up your own rules like adding two new base cards, that's totally fine, but most people here want to play according to 'Donald's rules' and thus be able to mix and match everything.

12
I didn't even get Archive and Triumphal Arch ...  :o

13
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Menagerie Previews 1: 5 Cards
« on: March 06, 2020, 02:46:26 pm »
How about discarding cards during another player's Clean up phase?

This already existed... call a Coin of the Realm right after playing Caravan Guard on an opponent's turn, or call Duplicate after gaining a card on an opponent's turn.

Yes. Somebody pointed that out earlier. It probably never happened in my IRL games, therefore it didn't occur to me.

14
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Menagerie Previews 1: 5 Cards
« on: March 02, 2020, 07:44:27 am »
How about discarding cards during another player's Clean up phase?

15
Dominion Articles / Re: Occasionally Relevent Rule Edge-Cases
« on: September 26, 2019, 07:04:43 am »
Note that you can now put the +Buy token on the Estate pile using Seaway.

I think you can't - the Estate pile is still not an Action card pile.

Seaway doesn't check the pile type, you just have to gain an Action card from the pile.

Oh, right, I misremembered Seaway's wording.

16
Dominion Articles / Re: Occasionally Relevent Rule Edge-Cases
« on: September 26, 2019, 06:03:53 am »
Note that you can now put the +Buy token on the Estate pile using Seaway.

I think you can't - the Estate pile is still not an Action card pile.

17
Rules Questions / Re: Reserve cards + Necromancer
« on: December 09, 2018, 11:51:16 am »
Quote from: Necromancer
Play a face up, non-Duration Action card from the trash, leaving it there and turning it face down for the turn.

No that phrase only stops the card from being moved into play. What stops the card from moving itself is apparently that it has already Lost Track of itself due to being played from an unexpected location.

Necromancer stops the played card from being moved to "in play," and that's all it stops. However! A card that for example trashes itself from play is looking for itself in play, and won't move itself if it's not there.

As the quote you quote says, it's not because it's being played from an unexpected location; it's because it wasn't moved into the play area when that happened. Vassal e.g. plays cards from an unexpected location too, but since it plays them to the play area no losing-track occurs.
Ah, thanks for that quote. Makes sense this way.

18
Rules Questions / Re: Reserve cards + Necromancer
« on: December 09, 2018, 10:34:41 am »
Quote from: Necromancer
Play a face up, non-Duration Action card from the trash, leaving it there and turning it face down for the turn.

19
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Asper's Cards
« on: December 01, 2018, 03:13:54 pm »
Shouldn't Treason say "Victory card" instead of "Action card"?

Is this a theme or machanic inquiry?

Your image in the German forum said "Punktekarte" and I assumed that was the right version. Otherwise the 4th player would have a huge disadvantage in the first round, wouldn't he?

EDIT: Oh, nevermind. I read the card wrong. In this case, the Action version probably is the more interesting one.

20
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Asper's Cards
« on: December 01, 2018, 01:09:57 pm »
Shouldn't Treason say "Victory card" instead of "Action card"?

21
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest Thread
« on: November 22, 2018, 03:00:44 pm »
Refinery should be a Duration card.
ABC, Buy phase comes after the Action phase.

Capitalism...

22
Rules Questions / Re: Is '$3, $4, $5 or $6' the same as '$3 to $6'?
« on: November 17, 2018, 09:21:55 am »
Well, those are all the integer price points from $3 to $6, and we don't have fractions of coins.

...yet.

But can '$3 to $6' include debt and/or potion costs?

No.

23
Citadel + King's Court is just crazy.

24
Finally, a Treasure Chest expansion!

25
Is Acting Troupe actually playable online at the moment? In all my games I got either Recruiter or Sculptor.

EDIT: Ah, finally, in my 15th game or so. :)

Pages: [1] 2

Page created in 0.069 seconds with 18 queries.