Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - Scoobie

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1]
1
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Interview with Donald X.
« on: March 23, 2018, 03:36:00 pm »
Are all the sets on Amazon (except Alchemy) now 2nd edition?

I have bought all but Adventures (and Alchemy, of course) as second editions on Amazon. I didnít  know about the upcoming second editions when I bought Adventures.

2
Thank you. I knew I was missing something!

3
Exorcist / Quarry

Trash Estate, gain Imp

Sorry to derail your fun, but I have a question about the above. I must be having a brain freeze.

Quarry reduces the cost of Action cards by 2. How does trashing an Estate here get an Imp?

4
Oops. I havenít played with Bandit in awhile and my randomizer app has the Bandit text wrong.Sorry to be a nuisance!

5
Is this because the Bandit puts the Haunted Mirror in the trash, thus allowing the opponent to possibly get the Ghost? If so, that assumes Heirlooms are also Coppers since Bandit trashes Coppers. I would not have thought to have Bandit trash Heirlooms.

6
Rules Questions / Re: Introducing a new rules document
« on: December 08, 2017, 08:16:52 pm »
Thank you so much for all of your hard work on this!

I was looking into the information on Donate/Mountain Pass and extra turns. In your summary on the bgg page, you refer to an update that says extra turns are resolved before Donate and Mountain Pass. The clarifications in each of those card entries say the extra turns are resolved after them.

Iím guessing that the document is correct these cards set up after turn abilities and they should be resolved after the turn that set them up, not after potential extra turns.

I did do some searching here and at bgg to find the correct answer, but was unsuccessful. (I didnít want to pester you with this.)

7
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Playing with Black Market for Real
« on: September 18, 2017, 06:16:09 pm »
I got an idea from an old thread to make a permanent Black Market deck. I play almost exclusively with my husband, so together we chose a 28 cards to put in this deck. I then wrote the name of each card and its cost on a blank Dominion card. (We chose 28 because that was the number of blank cards I had on hand.) When someone buys from BM, they choose their card and then I pull an actual card from the box for their hand and put the "blank" card aside. This way I don't have to pull a bunch of cards that don't get used (and then return them.)

At the time I did this, we owned all expansions except Dark Ages and Corn/Guilds.  We will probably add some from these games when we get them and more blank cards.

We use the randomizers under each pile to show empty piles. Piles with no randomizers are marked with blank cards.

8
Dominion General Discussion / Re: How many Events and Landmarks do you use?
« on: September 13, 2017, 02:13:27 pm »
IRL I like using 3, but no more than 2 of any one kind. More than that and analysis paralysis gets worse.

Question from a non-beginner, but certainly no where near an advanced player:

When referring to "kind", are you referring to event vs landmark or the nature of the card-shaped object?

If the latter, how do you categorize the different kinds?

9
Dominion General Discussion / Re: When did you start playing?
« on: September 12, 2017, 06:01:32 pm »
Last winter or spring. A friend loaned me the first edition base game and my husband and I got hooked. We purchased the Big Box with the SE Dominion and Intrigue. We call it our empty nest hobby. We have purchased all the expansions currently available. Just received Dark Ages today. I'm very glad we got it before Nocturne comes out. We played Adventures before Seaside and the Seaside durations seemed kind of bland!

I've never played online. My husband tried a few bot games but did not venture beyond that.

Edited to clarify.

10
Dominion FAQ / Re: How to get 2nd edition except for Dominion and Intrigue
« on: September 12, 2017, 05:23:11 pm »
Just received Dark Ages from Amazon and it is Second Edition. It refers to first edition of Intrigue on the back. Hopefully they don't sneak out any first editions they may have laying around.

11
Rules Questions / Re: Encampment with Crown or Throne Room
« on: September 07, 2017, 04:58:17 pm »
What's "feast"?

It's a large meal where lots of people get together, but that's not important right now.

While amusing, this is not very helpful!

LaLight: Feast is a card that was removed from the first edition of Dominion when the second edition was produced.

http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Feast

It creates many questions on how it interacts with other cards, so you will probably see it referenced to if you read old threads.

Pages: [1]

Page created in 0.065 seconds with 19 queries.