Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - werothegreat

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 283
1
Woodcutter is clearly a splitter, and that got removed

2
How much effort would it be to have hover links that pop up card images?. I think I've seen Magic sites do that.

Do people like it?

Most likely, that would involve a monetary investment into something that can do that, and then the time commitment of adding every card into the database. It does sound cool though.

I don't think so?  GendoIkari rigged up a Chrome extension that does exactly that for f.ds.

Observe: Moat

4
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Favorite Thematic Cards (part 2)
« on: September 18, 2017, 05:56:22 pm »
Pirate Ship, of course.

5
Feedback / Re: Innovation subboard
« on: September 18, 2017, 04:02:36 pm »
filtering forum games into other games seems to be hiding that fact that this is a dominion flavored mafia forum.

But in all seriousness what happened to the innovation community? Just slowly died out over time or..?

It turned out to be a not-very-interesting game that was weird and random and people stopped playing it?

6
Rules Questions / Re: New Stash + Inn
« on: September 18, 2017, 11:17:45 am »
What you might do that isn't "shuffling normally" is fish the Stashes out of your discard pile and shuffle them into your deck.

That is true. But I thought that was so obvious that it creates more confusion to even mention. It's also true in all other cases where you have Stash in your discard pile, not just with Inn.

But most times when you shuffle, you're shuffling your discard pile.  The specific exceptions to this are effects like Inn's.

7
Rules Questions / Re: New Stash + Inn
« on: September 18, 2017, 10:52:22 am »
If there are any cards in your deck that aren't being shuffled, such as when you had fewer than 5 cards left in your deck when you needed to draw a new hand for next turn, you can look through those remaining cards before putting them on top of your newly shuffled deck, though you can't put Stash in among those remaining cards.

It says to look through the remaining deck before adding the shuffled cards, but it should say to do it before placing Stash. As is the principal meaning of looking through it gets lost.

If a card tells you to shuffle your entire deck, like Inn (from Dominion: Hinterlands), and Stash is in your deck, there is no "remaining deck" that isn't being shuffled, so you don't get to look at the front of any cards. If Stash is in your discard pile when this happens, it's not being shuffled, so just shuffle normally.

The second sentence doesn't seem to clarify anything. I mean, what could you do that isn't "shuffling normally"? Look at the front of the cards? That was already addressed in the first sentence.

How about: "If there are any cards in your deck that aren't being shuffled, such as when you had fewer than 5 cards left in your deck when you needed to draw a new hand for next turn, you can look through those remaining cards before you place Stash, though you can't put Stash in among those remaining cards.  Put the remaining cards back on top once you finish shuffling."

And I'd think it would be obvious that "shuffle normally" means "shuffle like you would if Stash weren't a thing".

8
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Playing with Black Market for Real
« on: September 17, 2017, 11:00:13 pm »
Or, if you keep each Kingdom pile in its own individual baggie (like I think jsh does) just reach in and grab 3 baggies, take out a baggie (and the 1 card from it), and chuck the rest back in the bin.

9
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Playing with Black Market for Real
« on: September 17, 2017, 09:45:51 pm »
I've never played with Black Market IRL, though I own it.  I'd probably try to find some app to give 3 random cards not in the kingdom, simulating Dominion Online shuffling the deck, and pull out cards as needed.

10
Rules Questions / Re: New Stash + Inn
« on: September 17, 2017, 09:41:35 pm »
Since Stash has changed, would you mind if we got an updated official FAQ?  I can try my hand at it, if you like:

This is a Treasure worth .  When you're shuffling, and Stash is one of the cards you're shuffling, you can put it anywhere in your deck.  You can't look at the fronts of the cards you're shuffling; Stash has a different card back so you know where it is.  If you have multiple copies of Stash, you can clump them together, or spread them out however you want.  If there are any cards in your deck that aren't being shuffled, such as when you had fewer than 5 cards left in your deck when you needed to draw a new hand for next turn, you can look through those remaining cards before putting them on top of your newly shuffled deck, though you can't put Stash in among those remaining cards.  If a card tells you to shuffle your entire deck, like Inn (from Dominion: Hinterlands), and Stash is in your deck, there is no "remaining deck" that isn't being shuffled, so you don't get to look at the front of any cards.  If Stash is in your discard pile when this happens, it's not being shuffled, so just shuffle normally.  Because Stash has a different back, you'll be able to tell when it's in other players' hands, or set aside for a Haven (from Dominion: Seaside), and so on.

11
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Interview with Donald X.
« on: September 16, 2017, 01:37:39 pm »
I think you've said your wife has helped playtest, but are your kids old enough to play Dominion?  Are they any good at it?

12
Rules Questions / Re: Order of operations with Young Witch
« on: September 16, 2017, 09:48:05 am »
My understanding is these are all done in any order.  So whatever fits your fancy.  The only thing that can't happen is Black Market can't be the Bane if Young Witch is in the Black Market deck.

13
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: September 14, 2017, 10:35:25 pm »
I was going for the Crown one, but apparently all those work, too!

14
Rules Questions / Re: New Stash + Inn
« on: September 14, 2017, 03:25:29 pm »
That's right, Stash can be in your deck (though I'm not sure why you'd put Stash anywhere other than the top).  I was thinking of Stash being in your discard pile when you gained Inn.

15
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: September 14, 2017, 03:24:02 pm »
I bought a Kingdom Treasure (so not a basic card), and moved 1 to Aqueduct.  How did this happen?

16
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Dominion Strategy Blog Returns!
« on: September 14, 2017, 01:53:00 pm »
I prefer 4P over 2P any time. Also I never play Dominion online and don't care about it. Am I special yet?

Sounds like you belong over at the Strategist's Forum of Dominion, not here.
Splitters!

But at least we can all agree to hate the Strategical Dominion Forum.

17
Rules Questions / Re: New Stash + Inn
« on: September 14, 2017, 01:49:24 pm »
Inn: doesn't matter because you're not shuffling Stash, which is what causes the trigger

Annex: there is no "remaining deck" because your entire deck is being shuffled.

also, the wiki FAQ is outdated because 2nd edition Stash never got a new FAQ (nor did any of the other promos)

18
Oh right. Yeah, I thought you meant on the client. The only way to get the text would be to start a game with them. I'm planning on getting screencaps of the Japanese cards eventually, but that is a low priority for me currently.

19
Fortune Teller / Jester - Guarantee that Jester hands out a Curse.  Provided the other player has any Victory or Curse cards left.

20
I didn't find a way to look at the bottom card of a split pile within the Dominion Online client without exposing it in an actual game (for example against the AI). The German and Polish images for the split pile cards seem to be up, but the Japanese images for the split pile cards are not on the wiki yet. Finding the text for Castles in particular is annoying for any language that doesn't have the card images available outside the client.

Polish... I think you mean Russian?  But yeah, that's an issue I'm hoping Stef gets around to eventually.

21
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Which Removed Cards Do You Use IRL?
« on: September 11, 2017, 09:49:08 pm »
They sit in the back of one of my storage binders, but I never use them.

22
Dominion Articles / Re: Occasionally Relevent Rule Edge-Cases
« on: September 10, 2017, 11:34:35 pm »
"Do X. If you did, do Y."

More often you'll see this worded "You may do X for Y".

23
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: September 10, 2017, 04:49:48 pm »
I revealed a basic card (basic, not Base Set) to Courtier, and got all 4 bonuses.  How?

24
Dominion Articles / Re: Occasionally Relevent Rule Edge-Cases
« on: September 10, 2017, 04:13:34 pm »
I'm seeing lots of new articles, but somehow none of them are on the front page. What's up there? I thought we were fixing that.

It is being fixed!

25
Dominion Articles / Re: Occasionally Relevent Rule Edge-Cases
« on: September 10, 2017, 08:48:55 am »
Note: if you Throne Room BoM and it has a vanilla bonus token on its pile, you only get the BoM token bonus on the first play, because on the second play it is now whatever card it's emulating.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 283

Page created in 0.094 seconds with 18 queries.