Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - majiponi

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 29
1
Midas
cost $8 - Project
When you trash a card, if it is a ...
Treasure card, exchange it for a Copper
Victory card, exchange it for a Silver
Action card, exchange it for a Gold

He protects you from trashing Attacks. Once I tried exchanging a card costing up to $4, but that was crazy with Highways and a Chapel.

2
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: August 12, 2022, 10:10:55 am »
This came up in a game I played against Lord Rattington recently and I was too busy thrashing him to notice that this was possible until after the game:

Gain the entire Wish pile in a single turn.

I've thought of multiple solutions so I added some "hard modes", which I spoilered to keep from giving hints:
No villages/splitters.
No returning to your action phase. (My kingdom had this + only Trusty Steed as a splitter which is really no splitters.)
No landscapes.
All of the above - I haven't found a way to do this though, I can do any 2 but not all 3.

Bonus puzzle: If there were unlimited copies of wish how many can you gain in a single turn? I can get to 65 given perfect shuffle luck but I bet someone can do better.

Hard mode

play 10 Experiments to draw 9 Processions and 6 Leprechauns
play 6 Processions and a Leprechaun twice
play 6th Procession again to play another Leprechaun twice
play 5th Procession again to play another Procession to play another Leprechaun twice
play 7th Procession again to play another Leprechaun twice
play 4th Procession again to play 2 Processions and
another Leprechaun twice
play another Leprechaun twice

3
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #159: Some Nights
« on: July 28, 2022, 11:19:27 am »
Sir Nightking
cost $5 - Night - Attack - Duration - Knight
At the start of your next turn: +1 Card, and each other player reveals the top 2 cards of their deck, trashes one costing $3 - $6, and discards the rest; If anyone trashes a Knight, trash this.

Until then, when another player plays a Knight, it won't affect you.


EDIT: Dark Ages, include it Knight pile

4
Rules Questions / Re: Donate "first"
« on: July 24, 2022, 09:20:13 am »
Just to restate what Gendo said.
"At the start of your turn" is a triggered ability. Out of all those triggered abilities, Donate is first.
When you begin resolving "start of turn" triggered abilities, your turn has started already. This means that all abilities that lasted "until your next turn" are over.

So it's
1) Your turn starts (meaning your Action phase starts)
2) Resolve "start of turn" abilities

Now I  see. Thanks!

5
Rules Questions / Re: Donate "first"
« on: July 21, 2022, 11:45:28 pm »
* Unlike other "start of turn" effects (such as Archive or Clerk), Donate happens first. So if you have any Clerks in your starting hand, you can't play them until you finish Donating.
* Regardless of what your original hand size was, you draw 5 cards after trashing.
   - just pulled from the wiki

The “first” on Donate means it has a separate, earlier trigger than all other start of turn triggers/effects, including Haunted Woods +3 cards. But maybe I’m not understanding the question?

Haunted Woods has 2 effects: at the start of your next turn, +3 Cards; until the start of your next turn, attack other players. Donald has already told us the second effect happens directly after starting turn;  before deciding which effect like playing Clerk or drawing 3 cards happens first.

6
Rules Questions / Donate "first"
« on: July 21, 2022, 09:40:57 am »
Now Donate tells us to resolve its Durative effect first.

Haunted Woods and Swamp Hug tell us to end its Attack at the start of our next turn (before desiding which Durative effect to resolve first).

Which one wins? I assume Haunted  Woods win and SECOND we resolve Donate.

7
Rules Questions / Treasury and Cavalry
« on: June 30, 2022, 06:14:28 am »
One Japanese player told me.

play 5 Treasuries
buy and gain a Cavalry
topdeck those Treasuries
play them again
play Cavalry as Horse

infinite coins

Is it a correct behavior?

8
Rules Questions / Overpay 2022
« on: June 27, 2022, 11:06:31 pm »
Now Stonemason has a different wording.
Do we overpay BEFORE gaining or AFTER?

This matters when we use Basilica or "Priest and Watchtower" (before overpaying, trash Stonemason to overpay more).

9
Mined Silver
cost $4 - Treasure - Reaction
+$2
---
In games using this, at the start of your turns, if this is the top card of your deck, play it.


(This card has a different back like Stash.)

10
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: June 09, 2022, 11:10:42 pm »
Playable Kingdom Cards: Chapel, Bandit Camp, Highwayman, Horn of Plenty
Landscapes: none
Starting Cards: 7 Coppers, 3 Estates

Create a deck to gain 8 Provinces in a single turn. (Maybe your opponent can help you.)

11
Rules Questions / Re: Emissary and Order of Masons
« on: June 07, 2022, 07:47:34 pm »
Notice that this wording that's supposed to maintain Stash 1E's functionality says "set this aside." (And the reason this wording wasn't used is because it's just so wordy for no real gain.)

To maintain the old functionality, [Stash] would be something silly like

$2
Before shuffling cards that include this, set this aside, look at any cards not being shuffled but about to be seen, and after shuffling, put this anywhere in the shuffled cards.

I'd argue that Stash 1E and 2E aren't actually different from each other (just like how Nomad Camp in 2011 is the same as Nomad Camp in 2017), but it's pretty hard to put effort into figuring out how Stash works.

Oh, I didn't know that thread. What I thought 1E Stash does is,

1. shuffle all cards in my discard pile,  including Stash
2. find Stashes from the new shuffled deck, looking at backs
3. reposition found Stashes.

I admit nobody does like this, but this is what I understood Stash literally.

12
Rules Questions / Re: Emissary and Order of Masons
« on: June 07, 2022, 12:45:56 pm »
I think if Order of Masons shenanigans means that you shuffled nothing, then that should also apply to Astrologers, Star Chart, and Stash too. It seems clear to me that you're not shuffling the Stash, you're just Secret Passaging it into the cards you're shuffling.

Unlike Order of Masons, Stash creates a new deck.
Quote
When you shuffle, you may put this anywhere in your deck. (Stash 1st Edition)
1E Stash is repositioned after shuffling. Is 2E different? That is the question.

13
Rules Questions / Re: Emissary and Order of Masons
« on: June 07, 2022, 11:26:34 am »

What do you think about the -1 Card token scenario?

I for sure agree with you there. The rules for -1 Card token just sound very clear, they cause you to draw 1 fewer card. Whereas, I don't think Star Chart causes you to Shuffle 1 fewer card.

What do you think about Stash? Does Stash ever get shuffled?

I think shuffling has done when at least one card is in the new deck, but I am not sure. Are 3 Stashes shuffled? Dominion is so complicated.

14
Rules Questions / Emissary and Stash
« on: June 07, 2022, 10:39:41 am »
My deck is empty. My discard pile has nothing but a Stash.
I play Emissary.
I topdeck that Stash.
Did I shuffle?

(2) I topdeck that Stash with Star Chart. Did I shuffle?

I assume both Emissaries give me +1 Action and +2 Favors, but I am not sure.

15
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Prosperity 2E Preview 3
« on: June 02, 2022, 05:15:02 am »
Collection is brokenly strong with Supplies, isn't it?

16
Rules Questions / Re: War Chest
« on: May 31, 2022, 08:24:03 pm »
Thanks.

17
Rules Questions / War Chest
« on: May 31, 2022, 12:12:13 pm »
2-players game. It's my turn.
I play a Witch.
Alice plays a Sheepdog and a Vassal (Way of the Mouse).
She discards and plays a Crown.
She plays a War Chest from her hand.

Q1. Do I contraband, or does she?

Duchy is banned.
After that, I play another War Chest from my hand.

Q2. Can I gain Duchy if she names another named card?

18
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Prosperity 2E Preview 2
« on: May 31, 2022, 06:29:20 am »
Why is Clerk Reaction? Just saying

+$2, Attack, if there is no different named Action card in play, +1 Action.

isn't enough?

19
Rules Questions / Re: Choosing cards with Hunter
« on: May 20, 2022, 04:02:38 pm »
I would suggest a potential third option, that it's both atomic but you still don't have to draw Village. You can choose the same card multiple times, so in your example where you say "there are none" for Victory, instead it's "I choose Mill" again. Same outcome as choosing one at a time, but a different way of thinking about it.

I don't think that's convincing. Usual cards like a Pawn say "(The choice must be different.)" So, cases like below, you cannot deny "putting 3".

Quote
You have bought Capitalism. You play a Huter and reveal a Mill, an Opulent Castle, a Stronghold. (Each is Action-Victory-Treasure.)

20
Rules Questions / Re: Blockade
« on: May 16, 2022, 05:40:03 am »
If you Blockade a Curse, then yes you can potentially give out the entire Curse pile. It doesn't sound very scary in practice. For one, they can skip gaining anything you Blockaded, and you can only Blockade $4's. And unlike Swamp Hag, doing this lowers Curses, so it's not going to stalemate.

Some Japanese players do this with Black Cat.

Alice gains a Mill.
Bob reacts with Black Cat.
Alice gains a Curse.
Alice gains a Curse.
...

21
Rules Questions / Blockade
« on: May 16, 2022, 03:25:56 am »
Do 2 Blockades give my opponent 29 Curses if I gain a Garden and a Curse and they gain a Garden on their turn?

22
Rules Questions / Re: Inn and Gatekeeper
« on: May 04, 2022, 12:27:59 am »
It used to be that a card that has been covered up cannot be moved by an effect such as Gatekeeper. But this actually changed with the 2019 errata, so now cards in the discard can be moved even if covered up. So “stop moving” rule doesn’t apply and the gained Inn will be exiled unless you shuffled it into your deck. Having another Inn in your discard doesn’t change anything; and when revealing an Inn to shuffle it into your deck you have to specify if you are revealing the new one or the old one.

I mean, I can topdeck Inn with Scavenger without revealing, so he doesn't know whether the Inn in my discard is what I've gained or not, unless I gained it from Black Market.

23
Rules Questions / Inn and Gatekeeper
« on: May 03, 2022, 07:05:21 pm »
(1) My opponent has played Gatekeeper.
I have an Inn in discard. I gain another.

(a)  I reveal it and shuffle my deck. Nothing will happen.
(b)  I reveal that Inn, shuffle my deck, and Exile what I've gained.

Are both correct?


(c)  I play a Sheepdog as Vassal (using Way), play a discarded Scavenger, and topdeck a Copper. (He doesn't know.) Can I deny Exiling? (Has he lost track?)

24
Rules Questions / Re: Exact timing of skipping several turns (Lich)
« on: April 14, 2022, 12:18:38 am »
When you play Lich, you take a "-1 Turn token".  Between turns, if you would take a turn, if you have any "-1 Turn tokens", you return one to cancel that turn.

Is it what Lich does?

25
Rules Questions / Re: Plateau Shepherds + Cost reducer
« on: April 06, 2022, 11:00:54 am »
Cost reducers normally apply to turns, for instance Ferry:

Quote
Move your -$2 cost token to an Action Supply pile. (Cards from that pile cost $2 less on your turns, but not less than $0.)
So at the end of the game, when you're tallying points, it's not "your turn" (or anybody's turn) so the cards just have their normal costs.

Highway and Princess say "while this is in play". Duration-Highway (way of the mouse) stays in play even when scoring, I think. Distand Land stays on Tavern Mat when scoring. Old Native Village and Island told you to put your cards on your mat into your deck, but those were for Gardens or Dukes. So when scoring, Duration cards we used on our last turn are in play, I suppose.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 29

Page created in 0.072 seconds with 19 queries.