Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - chipperMDW

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 13
1
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Menagerie Previews 2: Horses
« on: March 31, 2020, 08:00:29 pm »
How many different pieces of artwork are there for Horse?

What do you mean? Do all Horse cards not show the same art?

I'm not sure. I was playing the online implementation today (Menagerie is the free expansion of the day), and in one game, I'm almost positive that I sometimes saw a different artwork for my Horses. I feel like it showed a Horse rearing up instead of the "normal" grazing art.

EDIT: I may have been seeing the artwork for a Way.

2
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Menagerie Previews 2: Horses
« on: March 31, 2020, 07:39:24 pm »
How many different pieces of artwork are there for Horse?

3
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Dominion: Menagerie
« on: March 24, 2020, 05:43:10 pm »
She's the grin reaper.

4
So, if you got the upgrade pack, you probably didn't get a rule book, did you? If you go to Rio Grande Games, you can grab an electronic version of the base set rule book up where it says "Download Game Assets." (The rule books for all other expansions are online there, too.) That may make some things clearer for you.

You could also check the German publisher's website for rules in that language, if you prefer. I'm not sure whether they're available online or not, though.

5
+ per card in your deck!

Philosopher's Stone, eat your heart out.

6
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Menagerie Bonus Previews
« on: March 14, 2020, 11:54:24 am »
Little known fact. Pigs actually like whey. I worked at a farm where we raised pigs and cows and made our own cheese. We would give the whey to the pigs in their food. So in that case, the pigs always found their own whey.

Ever since Ways were previewed, I've been wondering how long it would be before that pun occurd to someone.

7
Rules Questions / Re: Militia rule change
« on: March 10, 2020, 03:14:58 pm »
I didn't know that (or maybe I forgot). Are you sure Donald has ruled that you don't have to reveal all the cards when you discard one at a time for Militia? Do you have a link to that?

I found the post I was remembering. Specifically (bolding mine):

I think it's more natural to discard one at a time to Militia, given the phrasing; especially considering it lines up with Library etc. This could give you an infinite loop with "when you discard this, +1 card" and well that card doesn't exist. I'd rather not have a special ruling and with no special ruling and nothing in the rulebooks, "discard down to 3" sounds to me like I keep discarding until I have 3 (or fewer dammit). However you don't need to reveal the cards below the top one because somehow the rulebook says this.

Maybe I'm incorrect in calling that a ruling. It looks like Donald was maybe still in the process of deciding there.

Ha, ha, he talks about "when you discard this, +1 card" in there.

8
Rules Questions / Re: Militia rule change
« on: March 10, 2020, 02:14:44 pm »
One-at-a-time doesn't sound great to me because now the online version has to say what you discarded, and in real life, everyone can demand to see your discards, which takes more time and is only fair given the rules.  Might as well skip the middleman and make all discard piles completely public at this point.

So, the previous ruling for Militia was "discard them one at a time, but you don't have to reveal them all somehow."

The way I would implement that electronically would be to allow discarding in batches. Have Militia repeatedly ask you, as long as you have more than 3 cards in hand, to discard a number of cards between 1 and {cards in hand minus 3}. If you want to discard them all in one go, then you do that and only reveal one. If you want to discard less than that, you do, you react, and then you can discard another batch. You reveal one card per batch you discard. Repeat until you're down to 3 cards in hand.

9
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Menagerie Bonus Previews
« on: March 09, 2020, 01:53:30 pm »
Ooh, this means that with Militia and Village Green, you can discard a Village Green, play it, draw a card, discard another Village Green, play it, draw a card, repeat up to 10 times; and still be at a 5 card hand; having to discard 2 more.

Or, I think, put the +1 Card token on Village Green and get hit by Militia to play all the Village Greens that get into your hand in next-turn mode for free.

10
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Menagerie Bonus Previews
« on: March 09, 2020, 01:44:24 pm »
I don't think it's in the published rules, but yes, Donald has rules that when-discard abilities trigger after you discard all the cards.

That ruling is about Minion, which does discard the cards simultaneously. But unless I've missed a recent ruling (I admittedly haven't been paying that much attention to the latest changes) Militia and other "discard down to" were ruled to be one-at-a-time (but you don't have to reveal them all somehow).

Here's a recent-sh (2017) place it was discussed. Donald said:

Quote from: Donald X.
Yes, sorry; Inn is "discard 2 cards at once" while Militia is "repeatedly discard 1 card until at 3."

EDIT: The impact being that you were allowed to, after being hit by Militia with a five-card hand, discard a Tunnel, react with it, react with a Watchtower to topdeck the Gold, then discard that Watchtower.

11
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Menagerie Bonus Previews
« on: March 08, 2020, 10:39:39 am »
Rats will be shocked to find out that the way of the rats is different from the way of the rat.

Yeah, it's way different.

12
Populate can't gain Rocks, it's not an Action.
But it is in an action supply pile, which is what Populate cares about.

13
Dominion General Discussion / Re: The bad luck thread
« on: March 06, 2020, 08:51:52 pm »

14
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Interview with Donald X.
« on: March 05, 2020, 01:30:27 pm »
What mechanic do both Remodel and Vault fit into?

Soft Terminals. Or supercolliders or whatever we decided to call them.

15
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Interview with Donald X.
« on: November 22, 2019, 10:48:30 am »
I'd say it's a fair reason you can't really do a "only sideways cards" mini-expansion or something, though.

There's Summon. Do people buy less of Summon than other promos?

16
If one player resigns, the other players starve to death.

17
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Teaching Dominion
« on: October 17, 2019, 11:47:49 am »
First Game set

* Poacher

I thought Woodcutter had been replaced by Merchant, not Poacher, in the First Game set. Did this change in a later printing?

18
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Semi-Interesting Dominion Moments Thread
« on: September 26, 2019, 04:43:23 pm »
This is obsolete because errata, right?

Yes, this situation is no longer semi-interesting.

19
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Dominion 2019 Errata and Rules Tweaks
« on: September 25, 2019, 03:41:46 am »
5. Costs don't go below $0.

The cost in $ of a card can't go below $0.

It might be worth it to point out that there is still the concept of a negative coin cost that comes up when you Develop Coppers.

20
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Interview with Donald X.
« on: August 27, 2019, 01:26:31 am »
In designing which choices are worthwhile to have in a game, my document states:
Quote

Is this referring to a document you're writing?

21
Can captain play as a card from an empty supply pile?

Note that Captain is not played as anything.

22
I never said anything claiming the opposite...
"Leaving it there" doesn't stop the Captain from being trashed when you use it to play a one-shot.

You misunderstood this. You read it as "The instruction is not sufficient to prevent Captain from being trashed..." It was intended as "The instruction is not necessary to prevent Captain from being trashed..."

23
I wasn't as precise as you but my claim was correct, i.e. Captain stays where he is. That the card he copies also stays where it is is less relevant, except for piling and covering up (for example if Encampment would get set aside, you could pull off tricks like getting at Plunders) issues.
What you mainly care about is that you kill off your BoM if you play it as Death Cart whereas your Captain survives if you play it as Death Cart. Whether the Death Cart in the Supply that you copied gets trashed or not is of secondary relevance.

You are incorrect. The "leaving it there" phrase does not apply to Captain; it applies to the card Captain plays. It says that the card Captain plays does not get moved into play.

It is true that Captain stays where he is, but that's simply because that's what cards do. If nothing says to trash it or return it to a supply pile, then it stays in play. When you use Captain to play Death Cart, nothing says to trash Captain, so nothing happens to Captain.

You are possibly missing that you do not play Captain as the other card (the way you do with BoM). Captain says "Play a non-Duration Action card from the Supply..." It does not say "Play Captain as " the card. Captain does not become the card.

You focus on mechanical details, I focus on practical implications and comparisons with existing cards. In my opinion both perspectives are useful but you seemingly think otherwise.

If you want to compare to existing cards, you should be comparing with Necromancer, not BoM.

24
Rules Questions / Re: Fleet extra turns
« on: May 01, 2019, 12:04:36 pm »
Because if the bolded text is taken literally, then people who didn't buy Fleet simply aren't a part of the game any more; they don't exist. Similar to a multi-player Magic game when one player loses.

But, we know that the bolded text is NOT to be taken literally, because those people in fact are still participating in the game. They gain Curses when someone plays Witch, etc. It's not that they don't participate in it, it's that they don't get an extra turn from Fleet's effect.

Even so, if a card specifically said to give an extra turn to, like, a friend who didn't even start playing the game, why wouldn't it be able to do that, Fleet or no? (Assuming it detailed where they were supposed to get their deck and starting hand from.)

EDIT: I guess you're saying that you can interpret it as though the seating order has changed and you can no longer refer to a non-Fleet player as "the player to your left." I guess I could see that. But I wouldn't call that a literal interpretation of anything. I'd call that making assumptions that some text means a bunch of things it doesn't actually (literally) say.

25
Rules Questions / Re: Fleet extra turns
« on: May 01, 2019, 11:13:50 am »
Nothing at all indicates that players without Fleet do extra turns. How should the average player (or a translator) guess that? ... just for players with this. seems simple and straightforward. I don't know of a rule which could enlarge that specified group. Without knowledge of this thread tasked to write a FAQ i would have written
  • players without Fleet get no turns during Fleet round. Especially can't such player get possessed.
  • players with Fleet execute other extra turns pending from before Fleet round or initiated in Fleet round as usual.
Hey, Donald wrote something sounding just so:
Fleet doesn't create extra turns; it creates an extra round of turns, and then only some people participate in it. That's how I read it.
bold by me

Why would the fact that you're in "Fleet turns" stop Possession/Outpost/Mission from working? Those specifically say that some player gets an extra turn after this one. It doesn't say anywhere that the extra turn is contingent on or occurs relative to some player's "normal" turn (or Fleet turn).

I agree, though, that the rulebook should have been much more detailed about what exactly Fleet's text is trying to convey.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 13

Page created in 0.14 seconds with 19 queries.