Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - navical

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7
1
Dominion General Discussion / Re: How thematic are card names?
« on: February 05, 2018, 07:06:51 pm »
I've always read the theme of Chapel as being "the things you most want to trash are Curses, and so you go to the chapel to receive a blessing and remove your Curse". Which doesn't make so much thematic sense for trashing Coppers, or Estates.

(I suspect this theme makes some newbies slower to learn the power of trashing starting cards...)

2
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Forced Wins Training Sessions
« on: January 31, 2018, 06:28:00 am »
Observe that LR currently has the only Spoils not in the Spoils pile.

Stonemason Gold -> 2x Bandit Camp.
Play City Quarter to draw everything.
Play 2x Bandit Camp, gaining 2 Spoils.
Play 5x Forager trashing Graverobber, Wishing Well, City Quarter, 2x Copper = $20.
Play 3x Gold, 1x Copper, 2x Treasure Trove, gaining 2x Gold, 2x Copper = $34.
Pay off debt, $31. Buy 2x Province, 3x Duchy.

You have as many Golds and Coppers as you started with, and 2 more Spoils; that means LR is on at most 43 points, while you have at least 21 + 21 + 5 = 47 points.

You can do better than this by counting Keep points on other Treasures (how much better depends on exactly what's in your draw pile) but all that matters is the win

3
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Forced Wins Training Sessions
« on: January 29, 2018, 01:55:12 pm »
Play FV. Governor remodel Copper->CSM, topdecking with Watchtower. Hand is WT-WT-Gold-Prov-Bishop, so playing WT draws CSM. You still have an action, so play CSM. You have 3 buys, plenty of coins to buy 3 CSMs to pile them out, and a points lead.

4
Google Translate is malfunctioning?

No, it was just that the juxtaposition of Greybirdofprey's English "This may shed some light:" and then the looks-like-monkeys-at-a-keyboard-gibberish of Dutch was really funny.

Dutch is one of the closest living languages to English, actually. You should be able to understand a lot of words without trying too hard, especially if you also happen to know a bit of German.

Because Dutch is so close to English, a lot of the words look like plausible English words if you don't look too hard (and there are a few in there that are actual English words), and I think that actually makes it look more like gibberish to a native English speaker. Other foreign languages are clearly foreign at a glance (e.g. Spanish or Italian has far too many words that end in vowels, German has too many long compound words and the capitalised nouns, etc), but Dutch looks like something that might come out of a fake-English-words script.

(not a value judgement on Dutch, just an observation about the languages and their perception.)

5
Dominion General Discussion / Re: The Dominion Cards 2017 Edition: Hexes
« on: January 24, 2018, 05:05:52 pm »
Maybe we could get these 2017 Hexes results added to the wiki page for "List of Cards by Qvist Rankings"?

http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?title=List_of_Cards_by_Qvist_Rankings&action=edit

6
Dominion General Discussion / Re: The more I read the worse I get?
« on: January 06, 2018, 08:10:41 pm »
You shouldn't be discussing the strength of Loan in this thread at all.

7
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Forced Wins Training Sessions
« on: December 17, 2017, 06:53:01 am »

Play Mill to draw Bridge Troll, play Stonemason trashing Bridge Troll for Wandering Minstrel and Stonemason, play Mill discarding Estate + drawn card to get you to $1, play 3 Copper and 1 Silver to get you to $6.
Buy Stonemason overpaying 3 for 2 Wandering Minstrels, Stonemason overpaying 1 for 2 Stonemasons.

8
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Dominion: Ice Age
« on: December 05, 2017, 06:43:47 pm »
A compromise option would be once per shuffle with a maximum of one per turn. It's less elegant, though. And "at the end of your turn, if you shuffled this turn", which is more or less the same but prevents any gain-and-remove-ice shenanigans - is even less elegant.

9
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Interview with Donald X.
« on: December 05, 2017, 06:41:09 pm »
Donald's name does seem to be more prominent than most, though.

10
Rules Questions / Re: Trashing several cards with Monestary
« on: December 01, 2017, 06:56:49 am »
These are definitely edge cases, but it is possible:

You have two Catacombs in hand, no other cards in hand, and no cards in your deck and discard pile.
Blessed Village is in the Supply, and the top boon is The Wind's Gift.
If you trash the Catacombs one at a time, and gain a Blessed Village off the first, then The Wind's Gift will make you discard the second Catacombs, so you can't trash it.
If you trash both Catacombs at once, however, you can trash both at once.

Another way to get the same issue:
Cursed Village is in the Supply with your -2 Cost token on it. You have 4 Provinces in hand in addition to the two Catacombs, and Fear is the top Hex. (Or Haunting with 3 Provinces in hand - if you've trashed both Catacombs you don't have to topdeck a card, if you've only trashed one then you do).

These also work with Inherited Blessed/Cursed Villages and trashing Hunting Grounds.

11
Dominion FAQ / Re: Maximum Possible VP?
« on: November 29, 2017, 04:50:33 am »
In the sense that infinity is shorthand for an unbounded limit, I am completely fine with Awaclus' loop producing "infinite VPs" in the sense that for any real number, the loop can always produce more points than that.
Not distinguishing between infinity and an unbounded limit is a very dangerous thing to do if you wish to make true statements.

What's the difference?

Unbounded VP Action $notenough
+1 VP
You may play this again.

Infinite VP Action $notenough
+1VP per whole number greater than 0.

The first one can get you any number of VP, but at some point you have to stop, at which point you only have some finite number of VP.
The second one actually gets you infinite VP, because you get them all at once.

12
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Empty the Changeling pile with one Action
« on: November 22, 2017, 05:49:10 am »
Kingdom: Duchess, Lurker, Changeling, Market Square, Watchtower, Death Cart, Necromancer, Trader, Hunting Grounds; Ferry, Inheritance.

Setup: Ferry then Inheritance on Hunting Grounds. Gain Zombie Mason from the trash with Lurker.
Hand: Zombie Mason, Market Square, Market Square, Trader, Watchtower.
Top of deck: Hunting Grounds.

We have Trader in hand, so can exchange anything for a Changeling.
Play Zombie Mason, trashing Hunting Grounds.
Gain 3 Estates, exchanging two for Changelings and trashing the third with Watchtower.
Repeat this n times, where n is the size of the Estate pile. By default n=8 but it can be increased.
From trashing the final Estate-Hunting Grounds, gain a Duchy, exchanging it for a Changeling, gaining a Duchess, exchanging that for a Changeling.
React to the first Hunting Grounds trash with two Market Squares, gaining 2 Golds, exchanging them for Changelings.
Zombie Mason lets you gain a card: gain a Death Cart, exchanging it for a Changeling, and with it get two Ruins, exchanging those for Changelings.

Total Changelings is 2n + 7, so 23 if n=8.

The maximum value possible for n is 12+3*6 = 30, in a 6 player game with Ambassador and Lighthouse. Although we only have one Kingdom card slot left, we could replace Trader, Watchtower and Lurker with Black Market to allow both Ambassador and Lighthouse.

13
Dominion FAQ / Re: Maximum Possible VP?
« on: November 21, 2017, 05:43:40 pm »
In the sense that infinity is shorthand for an unbounded limit, I am completely fine with Awaclus' loop producing "infinite VPs" in the sense that for any real number, the loop can always produce more points than that.
Not distinguishing between infinity and an unbounded limit is a very dangerous thing to do if you wish to make true statements.

14
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Split pile: Attendants/Old God
« on: November 19, 2017, 07:11:13 pm »
Is it intended that Attendants doesn't stay out if you don't discard a Potion? As written it doesn't.

15
On the megaturn: discard everything to Vault, then topdeck everything with Herald's overpay effect.

My solution strands a Vault in play where your solution strands 3 cards in hand; 3 - 1 = 2.
You need Travelling Fair as well, to topdeck the Herald - it can't topdeck itself with its overpay.

16
Dominion: Nocturne Previews / Re: Cultural references in Nocturne
« on: November 19, 2017, 07:00:54 am »
Tragic Hero: This is a general reference to the dramatic archetype of a hero who begins prosperous but falls to ruin through his own mistakes and actions (not usually villainy). Famous examples include Oedipus, who accidentally fulfilled a prophecy that he would kill his father and marry his mother; and Hamlet, who embarked on a worthy quest for revenge but whose recklessness leads to the death of most of the play's characters. Likewise, as soon as things are getting really good for you, this Tragic Hero dies, but at least you get to inherit his Treasure! The crows in the illustration are omens of death or bad luck.
i feel this is missing the similarity to Hero.

17
Ew. Ick.

I guess I'm now convinced that's how it works. Just less convinced it's how it ought to work...
The only other possibility would mean the Overlord would remain a Lurker until it next left play, i.e. if you gained it (with Lurker, say), drew it, and then played it, it would still be a Lurker, and would only stop being a Lurker when it left play the next time. Which would be actually impossible to track.

18
If you have sufficient (8 definitely works) other cards in hand, then using Tragic Hero instead of Mining Village gives you unlimited buys as well as allowing you to gain the entirety of every Treasure pile in the Supply.

19
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Really bad card ideas
« on: November 16, 2017, 05:31:03 pm »
Wonka Chocolate Bar
Candy $3
When you gain this, look at its back. If it's a Golden Ticket, gain 3 Wishes from their pile. Otherwise, gain a Silver. Return this to the Supply and shuffle the Wonka Chocolate Bar pile.

(There are 9 Wonka Chocolate Bars with normal backs and one with a Golden Ticket back. As with Knights and Ruins, shuffle the Wonka Chocolate Bar pile before the game, but keep the cards in the pile face up.)

20
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Puzzle: Smuggler's Choice
« on: November 16, 2017, 02:45:08 pm »
No Black Market - so no Potion, since we can't have Potion-cost cards in the Kingdom, no Events, and no gains other than as a result of buying a single card:

Kingdom:
Charm, Haggler, Catacombs, Cache, Cultist, Bazaar, Trader, Young Witch, Skulk, Watchtower (Bane), Smugglers; Shelters

Deck: 8 Cultists, 8 Bazaars, 7 Hagglers, 6 Charms, 1 Necropolis, 2 Catacombs, 1 Trader, 1 Watchtower
(Trader can trash Coppers, and with a Watchtower in hand can trash Shelters).
The trash contains your 9 starting cards, plus two Silvers from trashing the Shelters.
Your opponent's deck consists of their starting cards and a single Smugglers.
The bottom two Ruins are the same.

Play 8 Bazaars and a Necropolis, leaving 10 actions, leaving a hand of 4 Cultists.
Play 8 Cultists (chained) and 2 Catacombs, leaving 7 actions and drawing 22 cards. You need to draw 4 Cultists, 2 Catacombs, 7 Hagglers, 6 Charms, 1 Trader, and 1 Watchtower = 21 cards, so this works.
Play 7 Hagglers, so you now have no actions.
Play 6 Charms, always taking the gaining option.

Buy Duchy
Gain from Charm: Charm, Haggler, Catacombs (reveal Watchtower to trash, gaining Estate), Cache (reveal Trader to gain Silver instead of one Copper), Cultist, Bazaar
Gain from Haggler: Watchtower, Trader, Curse, Young Witch, Skulk (gaining Gold), Smugglers, the penultimate Ruins.

There are 19 Supply piles, of which only Province does not cost $6 or less, and your opponent can Smuggle from any of the 18 other Supply piles.

21
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Empty the Supply in 1 Turn
« on: November 16, 2017, 11:42:34 am »
Quote
Buy: Banquet (CC to discard, c, hex Locusts, f -> l, topdeck c)

This doesn't work: when you gain the Lurker, it goes on top of the Cursed Village which is lost track of, so Travelling Fair can't topdeck the Cursed Village.

22
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Puzzle: Smuggler's Choice
« on: November 16, 2017, 07:08:34 am »
Edit: This doesn't work because I forgot to include Smugglers. Oops. Not sure how to fix it: we can replace Village with Smugglers but you can't then get the required cards into play.

We can only get Potion into the supply if we also include Black Market, which always feels a little like cheating. I can manage Young Witch and the top Ruins, though:

Kingdom:
Charm, Haggler, Catacombs, Cache, Cultist, Bazaar, Trader, Watchtower (Bane), Young Witch, Skulk, Village

Bazaar + Village + Catacombs lets you draw & play 7 Hagglers and 6 Charms
(8 Bazaars and 8 Villages gives plenty of terminal space for 8 Catacombs and 7 Hagglers. The Catacombses draw 24 cards, plus 5 in your starting hand; you need to draw 7 Hagglers, 6 Charms, 8 Catacombs, 1 Trader, 1 Watchtower, and 3 Estates - you can trash Coppers with Trader - which is 26 cards in total, which is less than 29.)

Buy Duchy
Charm-gain: Charm, Haggler, Catacombs (reveal Watchtower to trash, gaining Estate), Cache (reveal Trader to gain Silver instead of one Copper), Cultist, Bazaar
Haggler-gain: Watchtower, Trader, Curse, Young Witch, Skulk (gaining Gold), Village, top Ruins (which is the same as the next one)

23
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Puzzle: Smuggler's Choice
« on: November 15, 2017, 11:57:59 am »
Kingdom: King's Court, Border Village, Skulk, Duchess, Haggler, Smugglers, Hunting Grounds, Trader, Watchtower, Cache.

Buy a Province with 10 Hagglers in play. One of those Haggler gains is a 1) Border Village that gains a Duchy, gaining a Duchess (giving room to gain a Curse instead of one of the 10 Kingdom cards). Another Haggler gains a 2) Skulk, gaining a Gold in the process. Another gain is a 3) Cache, gaining 2 Coppers, but you reveal Trader to turn one of those Copper gains into a Silver gain. Another gain is a 4) Hunting Grounds, but you trash it with Watchtower to gain 3 Estates. Gains 5-10 off Haggler are Curse, King's Court, Trader, Watchtower, Smugglers, and Haggler.

The only thing they can't gain is the Province. Is that okay for the rules?

Replace King's Court with Catacombs; add Ferry, and put Ferry on Hunting Grounds.

Buy a Border Village with 8 Hagglers in play.
Haggler 1: gain Skulk gaining Gold
Haggler 2: gain Cache gaining Copper, replacing with Silver with Trader, and Copper
Haggler 3: gain Hunting Grounds, trashing with Watchtower, gaining 3x Estate
Haggler 4: gain Catacombs, trashing with Watchtower, gaining Trader
Haggler 5-8: gain Watchtower, Smugglers, Haggler, Curse
Border Village on-gain: gain Duchy, gaining Duchess

What's more, all 10 Kingdom cards cost $6 or less.

24
General Discussion / Re: Maths thread.
« on: November 05, 2017, 10:26:15 am »
If you call the original sum S_n then using (n choose k) = (n-1 choose k-1) + (n-1 choose k) you can get a recurrence relation S_n = 2S_{n-1} + 2^{n-1}. This has closed form S_n = (n+2)*2^{n-1} which you can prove by induction.

25
General Discussion / Re: Maths thread.
« on: November 05, 2017, 04:19:32 am »
What do you mean by "k out of n"? Is it "n choose k" i.e. n!/(k!(n-k)!)?

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7

Page created in 0.225 seconds with 18 queries.