Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - Willvon

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 9
1
Dominion Online at Shuffle iT / Error when playing Displace
« on: May 08, 2020, 11:47:10 pm »
When you play Displace and exile a Province, shouldn’t you be allowed to get another Province as your card costing up to 2 more? Or if I use Displace to exile a Colony, shouldn’t I be able to replace it with a Colony? For some reason, Shuffle IT will let you gain a card less than than the exiled card or more than it, but not one that is the same price as it.

2
Rules Questions / Clarifying playing the action with Toil
« on: May 08, 2020, 11:12:09 pm »
If I buy Toil and play an Action card that gives me an action, can I continue to play more Actions from my hand? It doesn’t say you are back in your Action phase. So I am guessing that I cannot.

However, am I correct in thinking that if I play an Action card with Toil that gives me virtual coin, though I can’t play more Treasures after buying an Event, I can use the money from the virtual coin in my next buy?

Finally, is it true that if the Action card that I play with Toil allows me to trash or exile a card from my hand, or is an Attack card, I could trash or attack because it it part of resolving that one action I have been allowed to play? But if it lets me draw cards, I basically cannot use the cards I have drawn since they would just be discarded at the end of my turn, right?

3
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Dominion: Menagerie
« on: April 07, 2020, 11:44:11 pm »
It’s also in stock at Miniature Market

4
One that I personally enjoy is the Baron. He fancies himself to be some sort of real estate mogul, that is, he seems to pick up real Estates on a regular basis. He also loves to buy things. So he has to dispose of Estates regularly in order to bring in some money. Besides the fact that he has a somewhat shifty look to him, what is truly intriguing about him is that he always gets the same price for every Estate. You would think that with the the way the market is, he would get a little more for one over another, but completely ignoring "location, location, location", he keeps asking for the same amount each time. Definitely not a financial genius, but you can tell that from the people always whispering about him behind his back.

5
BEST: Peasant line.
I love the way the card art combines with the mechanics and the card names to create this sweeping narrative that implies so much about the "world" of Dominion. The idea that life in this reality imparts a wisdom, through suffering, that can then be imparted to a Wandering Minstrel, or to a whole Village, is clearly the master narrative that contains the rest of the "story of Dominion."

WORST: Bag of Gold.
Hold on. If it costs an action to take a piece of gold out of the bag, doesn't that imply that Gold is never, otherwise, stored in bags -- or in containers of any kind? That everyone in the world of Dominion is wandering around with all of their gold held in their hands at all times? Absolutely absurd.
But you get the action back.  Honestly the weirdest part of Bag of Gold is that it actually creates gold - it's not just storing gold around, it's creating gold out of thin air.  It must be a magic bag

The magically appearing gold is the result of all of the Alchemist’s hard work. He finally got the lead out and changed it to gold. However, he’s not very good at it. We have 10 Alchemists in our Dominion, but they can only manage to produce one Bag of Gold between them. Not only that, but most want-to-be-rulers who have built up enough equity to take ownership of a Province would rather be on social media and have Followers, or take a ride on their Trusty Steed, or find a nice Princess to marry and let her money help reduce some of the costs, all before they would even think about grabbing that Bag of Gold, no matter how magical it is.

6
Lord Rattington also does not understand how to play Tournament. He buys lots of Tournaments, but never uses them to get prizes, even if he has a Province in his hand.

7
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Menagerie Bonus Previews
« on: March 17, 2020, 09:24:53 pm »
Can someone help me understand this statement better?  The rulebook says in regard to Ways: “The choice to use a Way or not happens after "first" abilities on cards like Moat and Kiln.”

Moat says “When another player plays an Attack card, you may first reveal this from your hand”. Since this use of Moat is not playing the card, how would the “first” ability ever come before using Moat as a Way? The revealing and the playing of the card happen at completely different times, the “first” on someone else’s turn, the other on your turn. So why would it be necessary to make that distinction in the rules? Or is it referring to the idea that since an Attack card was put in play, even though you are playing it as a Way, other players can still “first” reveal their Moats if they want to do so? But if that is the case, why bother to reveal it?

I think I understand what it is referring to in regard to Kiln. You play Kiln, then you play the next card as a Way, but before resolving whatever the Way requires, you first gain a copy of that card since it is now in play. However, if you play Kiln as a Way, you don’t get to gain a copy of the card you play after it.

When you play an Attack card, other players use Reactions before you decide to use it as a Way. This matters; you can see if everybody Moats your Attack before you decide.

Thank you Jeebus and CRJ. The wording just threw me off a little bit. 

8
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Menagerie Bonus Previews
« on: March 17, 2020, 12:51:24 pm »
Can someone help me understand this statement better?  The rulebook says in regard to Ways: “The choice to use a Way or not happens after "first" abilities on cards like Moat and Kiln.”

Moat says “When another player plays an Attack card, you may first reveal this from your hand”. Since this use of Moat is not playing the card, how would the “first” ability ever come before using Moat as a Way? The revealing and the playing of the card happen at completely different times, the “first” on someone else’s turn, the other on your turn. So why would it be necessary to make that distinction in the rules? Or is it referring to the idea that since an Attack card was put in play, even though you are playing it as a Way, other players can still “first” reveal their Moats if they want to do so? But if that is the case, why bother to reveal it?

I think I understand what it is referring to in regard to Kiln. You play Kiln, then you play the next card as a Way, but before resolving whatever the Way requires, you first gain a copy of that card since it is now in play. However, if you play Kiln as a Way, you don’t get to gain a copy of the card you play after it.

9
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Menagerie Bonus Previews
« on: March 17, 2020, 11:39:00 am »
And now we know the last 2 teased cards.

"5 or fewer" - Stampede
"$1 less per" - Destrier
"a different thing" - Scrap
"an unused Action" - Way of the Mouse
"either now or" - Barge
"hand three times" - Mastermind
"instead, and vice-versa" - Way of the Chameleon
"instead of paying" - Animal Fair
"province, a duchy" - Alliance
"they discard their" - Coven


10
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Menagerie Bonus Previews
« on: March 17, 2020, 11:21:51 am »
Bonus Preview 11: Desperation



It's the Event version of Cursed Gold. You can have more money, if you want it badly enough.

Is the person on the art missing a hand?

I hope he just has his hand behind his back. Otherwise, we know one of the reasons why he is so desperate.

11
I preordered mine from Miniature Market.

Just Mine?

I dig your pun.

Actually, I ordered what will be mine, and my wife’s and my cat. Does that give me a Menagerie?

12
I preordered mine from Miniature Market. They are showing they will have the game in March 2020. From experience with my last preorder with them, I expect to have it by the end of March at the latest. 

13
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Menagerie Bonus Previews
« on: March 15, 2020, 10:15:15 pm »
So if I am not mistaken, so far we have seen all of the teaser phrases but 2:

"5 or fewer" - Stampede
"$1 less per"
"a different thing" - Scrap
"an unused Action"
"either now or" - Barge
"hand three times" - Mastermind
"instead, and vice-versa" - Way of the Chameleon
"instead of paying" - Animal Fair
"province, a duchy" - Alliance
"they discard their" - Coven

Let me know if there is something that I missed.

14
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Menagerie Bonus Previews
« on: March 14, 2020, 10:59:31 am »
Little known fact. Pigs actually like whey. I worked at a farm where we raised pigs and cows and made our own cheese. We would give the whey to the pigs in their food. So in that case, the pigs always found their own whey.

15
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Menagerie Previews 5: More Cards
« on: March 06, 2020, 01:47:27 pm »
Thanks again, Donald for providing more of this great game. My wife and I are looking forward to putting it to the test soon once my preorder ships.

With extra plus buy available for purchase right away, those Wayfarer piles are going to empty out fast and really change the normal early game scenarios.

16
Even if you don't want all cards from Populate, it has some extreme potential synergies (don't know how many of these will actually be good in a given game, though): gardens, vineyards, and philosopher's stone come to mind. Like mxdata said, watchtower in hand is actually really good, too.

It also makes it much easier to grab cards you need to increase the value of your Fairgrounds late in the game.

17
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Menagerie Previews 3: Exile
« on: March 04, 2020, 09:54:48 am »
I like that this expansion is adding new things, but still keeping it relatively straightforward, like Renaissance did.  You can jump on your horse and take a quick ride, and then just put it back in the stable.  Or you can exile those delinquents to the “ex-isle” (love that one, pubby), and after they have been sufficiently humbled and disciplined, you can invite them back to your dominion to add some winning value.

I am looking forward to using Bounty Hunter on a kingdom with Fairgrounds and lots of stuff, like Ruins, that are great for variety, but a pain to have in your deck during play.

Thanks again, Donald. This has been a great week so far.

18
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Menagerie Previews 1: 5 Cards
« on: March 02, 2020, 06:14:44 pm »
So kiln does not interact with wish...is that because it is not in the supply or (the lose track rule)?

it's because wishes are not in the supply

I am trying to understand why Wish won't work. Kiln says you gain a copy of the next card that you play that turn. It doesn't say anything about that card having to be from the supply or having to remain in the play area. So if you play Wish, even though it leaves the play area to go back to its pile, doesn't it still count as having been played after Kiln, and therefore you would be able to gain a new Wish?

Any time a card tells you to gain a card, it automatically means from the supply, unless it is telling you to gain it from a specific place (like "from the Wish pile", or if it is telling you to gain a specifically named card (as of the recent errata, simply "Gain a Wish" would work because it names "Wish" specifically". But for any other instruction to gain a card, the card you gain must be in the supply.
It's actually slightly trickier; "gain a Duchy" on Count won't gain a Duchy you left in the box because you only had 2 players. But yes. By default you only gain from the Supply, for Workshop etc.; cards that specifically gain non-supply cards can gain them, even by just saying "gain a Wish."

Thank you for all of the responses.  I appreciate the clarification about gaining. 

19
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Menagerie Previews 1: 5 Cards
« on: March 02, 2020, 03:47:46 pm »
So kiln does not interact with wish...is that because it is not in the supply or (the lose track rule)?

it's because wishes are not in the supply

I am trying to understand why Wish won't work. Kiln says you gain a copy of the next card that you play that turn. It doesn't say anything about that card having to be from the supply or having to remain in the play area. So if you play Wish, even though it leaves the play area to go back to its pile, doesn't it still count as having been played after Kiln, and therefore you would be able to gain a new Wish?

20
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Menagerie Previews 1: 5 Cards
« on: March 02, 2020, 03:42:24 pm »
So excited to have previews of a new expansion.  When these happen, it is always a highlight of my year. 

I showed my wife the cards and she really liked the sheepdog picture. 

I really love how these take old concepts and add a nice little twist to them to keep you thinking and make you possibly reevaluate the normal choices you would make on a board.

Thanks again, Donald.  This is a fantastic game!

21
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Dominion: Menagerie
« on: February 29, 2020, 02:46:44 pm »
Will someone be creating a Menagerie Previews section like we have done in the past for other expansions?

22
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Dominion: Menagerie
« on: January 07, 2020, 01:13:38 pm »
This sounds fantastic. I cannot wait. Early March will now be reserved for not just March Madness, but also for Dominion: Menagerie previews. Thank you so much, Donald and Jay, for continuing to feed our hunger for more Dominion.

23
In case anyone is looking to buy either Dark Ages or Alchemy, Miniature Market is having a big sale, and these expansions are included in it. Alchemy is $17.00 and Dark Ages is $25.50.

24
Dominion General Discussion / Re: The Dominion Cards Lists 2018 Edition
« on: December 28, 2018, 07:29:40 pm »
"Saving" just is a flag that tells me to count your list. It doesn't actually save anything.
So you "save" when you are done with the lists.

Not sure why copying did not work, sorry

Thanks for the explanation. As far as the list not saving, well, that’s life in the fast food lane.

25
Dominion General Discussion / Re: The Dominion Cards Lists 2018 Edition
« on: December 26, 2018, 11:30:05 pm »
Just a couple of questions to make sure I am doing this correctly:

1) Do I save only after completing all levels of card costs, or do I save it after completing each level?

2) I tried using rate mode. After numbering all of my $0-2 cards, I tried to use the “copy rate list to compare/order list” link. However, nothing copied over to the compare list. Do I have to save the rate list first before I copy it to the compare list if I want to use the compare list to fine tune my choices?

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 9

Page created in 0.076 seconds with 19 queries.