Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - singletee

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 33
1
Rules Questions / Re: Inheritance interaction
« on: July 19, 2018, 03:30:00 pm »
Just to try to make sense of this rules discussion, in the scenario described by trivialknot with BoM and Mining Village, does the BoM actually get played as Lighthouse when played the third time by the first King's Court?
Yes. The Band of Misfits is a Lighthouse currently, and you're playing it.

Suppose there were another Band of Misfits in my discard. I drew and played one of them as Lighthouse twice via Herald into Throne as described, but now I don't know whether it's the same Band of Misfits as the one I originally played.

This was mentioned in the OP and responded to by Donald at the start of the thread.

So the "solution" is that it's not currently possible to resolve the situation in the physical game? How disappointing.

I was there; I upvoted that post back then. But it certainly doesn't constitute anything remotely resembling a ruling. I don't begrudge Donald X. the decision not to rule on such an unlikely case, but that post really doesn't serve as a solution at all.

I suppose we could mark the cards? That ought to solve it if Masquerade isn't involved.

There are only 3 solutions really:
1. Mark the cards (emulating the abilities of a computer program),
2. If we don't know what the card is currently, it does nothing,
3. If we don't know what the card is currently, use information from some prior time.

2
Rules Questions / Re: Inheritance interaction
« on: July 19, 2018, 03:12:32 pm »
Just to try to make sense of this rules discussion, in the scenario described by trivialknot with BoM and Mining Village, does the BoM actually get played as Lighthouse when played the third time by the first King's Court?
Yes. The Band of Misfits is a Lighthouse currently, and you're playing it.

Suppose there were another Band of Misfits in my discard. I drew and played one of them as Lighthouse twice via Herald into Throne as described, but now I don't know whether it's the same Band of Misfits as the one I originally played.

3
Rules Questions / Re: "in play" on Royal Carriage
« on: July 19, 2018, 09:12:02 am »
I think in OP's case, it (Estate3) got played by me into my play area to do Crown stuff, left play, got played by Sally into Sally's play area to do Caravan Guard stuff, got played by me again via Estate2 (not putting into my play area). What does it do now? It is currently a Caravan Guard in Sally's play area so it should do Caravan Guard stuff, but we have no way of knowing in the general case that it is really the same card. We have already encountered this problem before and to my knowledge it wasn't really resolved. But regardless of what effects Estate3 has upon play the third time, can we then call Royal Carriage on the play of Estate3 that we just did?

The core of the problem being encountered is that it is possible to play a card without knowing whether that card is already in play, and thus whether RC is eligible to be called on it.

The core of the previously encountered problem is that it is possible to play an Estate without knowing where that Estate is, and thus what it should do upon being played.

4
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: July 17, 2018, 11:01:12 am »
Catacombs

Cultist?

Although by all rights, I'm pretty sure we've lost track of the Estate so many times we can't actually call RC (since it doesn't know that it's the same Estate in play).

It doesn't need to. You don't need to know where a card is to call RC upon its resolution.

Also, you need to force opponent to draw a card in between the two Ambassador plays.
Is that correct? Royal Carriage says you may call "if it's still in play". But the Estate isn't still in play, it has left play, and is now in play again.

Ah, I didn't remember it had that phrase. In that case, it's not "still" in play and can't be called.

5
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: July 17, 2018, 10:43:38 am »
Catacombs

Cultist?

Although by all rights, I'm pretty sure we've lost track of the Estate so many times we can't actually call RC (since it doesn't know that it's the same Estate in play).

It doesn't need to. You don't need to know where a card is to call RC upon its resolution.

Also, you need to force opponent to draw a card in between the two Ambassador plays.

6
General Discussion / Re: Email notifications?
« on: July 11, 2018, 05:47:19 pm »

7
Not to be confused with a semicoda, which is like a coda but halfway through the song.

8
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Mashups
« on: July 06, 2018, 07:21:16 pm »
Convoy
Action -
Reveal the top 5 Cards of your deck. Discard any that you have a copy of in play. Put the rest into your hand.

Enclave
Action -
+
Reveal your hand. Play an Action card from your hand chosen by the player to your left. If you do, +1 Action.

9
Other Games / Re: Slay the Spire
« on: June 20, 2018, 06:02:06 pm »
I played an unusual strategy on yesterday's daily climb. It was the one with the Silent where you started with 5 copies of one rare card. As it happened I got Wraith Form (3-cost Power: Gain 3 Intangible, lose 1 Dexterity every turn). I had never had much success with Wraith Form before, mostly because after the 3-turn timer runs out you are unable to defend yourself due to the Dex loss. But with 5 of them...

They weren't too useful in the early game because of the high cost, and the fact that there were so many interfered with my ability to attack and avoid the chip damage with my Defends. But eventually I got my hands on After-image (1-cost Power: When you play a card, gain 1 Block). Then I was able to upgrade it to be Innate. Crucially, the Block gains from this effect are not affected by Dex. So I was able to set up the After-image effect on the first turn of every fight, likely get Intangible the next turn, and from that point on I just literally did not care about how hard the enemies (tried to) hit. I also picked up a sixth Wraith Form, an Anchor to protect me on the first turn before I had a Wraith Form out, and a Setup and Bullet Time to let me play Wraith Forms for free. Beat Big Blue Bird easily without taking damage. Success!

10
Other Games / Re: Dicey Dungeons
« on: June 17, 2018, 02:31:07 am »
I've discovered a tactic to maximize the use of your limit break. If you are in a battle that will cause you to level afterwards, and you are about to kill the enemy, wait and let it hit you until your limit meter is full (or until you risk dying), since you will heal fully anyway.

11
Soothsayer/Donate

Technically, any gainer+ Donate.  Obviously this only works on 5/2 or 2/5 opening.

It works on any opening. Just open Donate and buy the Soothsayer on turn 3.

Unless you opened $2

In that case you can buy Soothsayer turn 2, Donate turn 3.

12
To answer the OP, I also advise you to give him Second Edition.

All the new cards in Second Edition Base have conditions or decisions, whereas Spy was the only decision-heavy card to be removed.

To be clear: I do like the new cards. They just don't feel right for new players, or for Base.

I think that comparison is pretty unfair. For instance, Bandit is less decision-heavy than Thief, and the decisions (when there are any) are spread out among the other players rather than all made by you. Merchant has a "condition" but man come on. It's not complex.

Artisan is a very decision-heavy card, I'll give you that. Sentry could be simpler, as discussed. The rest of the new cards have a smaller decision space than Workshop. Is Workshop too complex for the base set?

EDIT: Or to put it another way, Feast is a more decision-heavy card than Merchant, Vassal, Poacher, and Bandit. Also Harbinger misses a lot, so there's not always a decision there.

Playing Vassal is often tricky. Based on my deck contents, what is the probability I hit an action? Furthermore, what is the probability that it's terminal? How does the expected result compare to another terminal I could play?

Feast and Workshop are decision-heavy, but it's the same type of decision (which card do I get?) that players are already used to doing many times per game when they buy cards. In any case, Woodcutter can easily induce as many or more options. Now with access to multiple buys, do I get one expensive card or two cheap ones?

13
Yes, I noticed the pile-draining ability with $2 cost reduction as well. I think a good solution for it is to make Sarcophagus cost an appropriate amount of debt, instead of a coin cost, eliminating the possibility of gaining 2 of itself, no matter what $ cost reduction is in effect.

Yeah, either that, or go the Vampire route, and just have it specify non-Sarcophagus.

14
Oh man, other secret history. Sarcophagus used to not have a limit on the cost of the card in the supply that you used it with. Then we tested it with Hunting Grounds.

It's still ultra broken. Playing Sarcophagus with 2 cost reduction active lets you gain and play the entire Sarcophagus pile, then a bunch of copies of whatever other actions. Even using it on a plain cantrip makes it Lost City. And it curses opponents?

15
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Card alchemy revelation....
« on: May 16, 2018, 07:07:21 pm »
     

16
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Card alchemy revelation....
« on: May 16, 2018, 06:59:37 pm »

17
In practice, I give a very wide benefit of the doubt on undos. I can't remember the last time I denied one. The vast majority of people know what is a reasonable undo and ask accordingly. But for me, questioning someone's undo is a valuable form of engagement with that player. What were they trying to do? What is the nature of their mistake? What can both of us learn from this? How can it be resolved in a fair and equitable way? I think asking these questions every time (if only for a split second in obvious cases) ultimately makes for a better experience for everyone. I offer these pages from LIAR GAME as additional explanation.

18
Dominion General Discussion / Re: To Those Who Deny Undo Steps Online
« on: April 28, 2018, 11:06:56 pm »
I donít get this at all personally. I would see allowing an undo as being very gracious and sportsman-like, but to a degree above what I think should be minimally expected of people. I think someone is fully within their rights to deny an undo, and that such an act is not poor sportsmanship or rude; it is simply a lack of excessively good sportsmanship.
Well, not that I expect other people to grant undos, but then I don't want to play with them.

On the subject: Sometimes things might just be misunderstandings. I just played someone who played an Avanto and requested undo afterwards. I denied, thinking they wanted to not play Avanto once he drew a hand of no Saunas, but they clarified that they just mistakenly clicked "End Actions" (which I don't think there is a way for me to realize?), so then I gave them the undo. Without the talking it might have been a case where both think the other was being a jerk.


But see that's exactly what I'm talking about. It is not your job or responsibility to police other players and decide which undos they do and don't deserve. Just grant it. If they're requesting one to give them an unfair advantage, that's on them. Is it your privilege to deny? Sure, but it's also a bad attitude and that's what I want to see change in this community.
What? So your suggestion is that if someone undoes every Wishing Well wish to guess the right card, it would be bad attitude for me to deny that?

Yeah, basically. The issue here isn't what he was doing, it's that you're worrying about why he's asking for it in the first place. If you have a healthy attitude about the game, a productive one toward cultivating skill and personal growth, then you understand it's just not your place to differentiate. Let him worry about why he wants the undo and what that means for the game. You focus on you.

Abetting other players' cheating by deciding not to care isn't exactly a healthy attitude. It encourages such players to keep asking for malicious undos. This has a detrimental effect on everyone who plays those players in the future.

19
Even funnier, I think according to Council Room Curse/Curse was not the worst opening.


That literally does not make any sense. Maybe if I knew the kingdom it might make more sense.

Someone who opens Curse/Curse is probably a skilled player doing so as a joke. On the other hand, someone who opens, for example, Festival/Estate is probably a player who hasn't learned that villages aren't great to open with, or that sometimes it's best to buy nothing.

20
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Homage to the Best Card
« on: April 22, 2018, 03:27:04 am »

21
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Really bad card ideas
« on: March 30, 2018, 01:18:17 am »
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=6313.0

But on second thought, Seagull Mine works on would-gain, not on buy, so it could be different.

22
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Really bad card ideas
« on: March 29, 2018, 06:09:16 pm »
I think if you gain the card they buy, then they Lose Track and gain nothing.

Not true, actually. Talisman uses the same mechanism.

23
Dominion Articles / Re: How to be good at Dominion
« on: March 26, 2018, 05:07:47 pm »
I don't think there is any person who plays Dominion only to be good at it, without also finding it fun. There are millions of things you can choose to become good at. Why not become good at something that you actually enjoy?

You don't enjoy the process of becoming good at something itself? Sure, Dominion is fun. But if your primary goal is to get good at Dominion, your primary goal can't be having fun. Not even once have I looked at a board and asked myself the question "what strategy should I do here in order to have the most fun I can possibly have?".

I have looked at a board and prioritized winning over learning though, thousands of times actually, and that hasn't been great.


I would say my primary goal when playing Dominion is having fun. Getting better is secondary. Luckily for me, the strategies which are most fun and those which cause me to learn the most mainly coincide. Namely, whichever thing is the biggest, wackiest, Developiest engine possible. Though there are exceptions, such as Hermit/MS which I am still bad at despite it being straightforward and likely to be useful.

24
Dominion Articles / Re: How to be good at Dominion
« on: March 26, 2018, 11:33:51 am »
I just want to draw some attention to the concept that you have to keep challenging yourself and stepping out of your comfort zone if you want to get better at the game.

And I think just saying this might be more effective at accomplishing that goal than your article is. Part of that is because of how off-putting it begins. It doesn't matter how short or long it is when it starts with the statement: "Always keep in mind that winning is more important than having fun." For me, at best this makes you sound like you're out of touch with why many people play dominion (so then why would I listen to what else you have to say?), and at the worst it just makes you sound like a dick (so, again, I have no incentive to keep reading). Personally, I would have never read the whole thing if I wasn't already familiar with your eccentricities, Awaclus (and to be clear, this isn't intended as an insult. It means I kept reading because I think you often have worthwhile things to say even when the way you say them puts me off).

If you're not playing Dominion because you want to be good at it, then you're not the target audience for this article. I might recommend reading an article titled "How to have fun with Dominion" instead in that case.

I'm confused by this. Why play Dominion if you're not having fun?

Why practice playing the violin if you're not having fun? If you don't want to achieve anything, then it's fine to only ever do things that are fun.

I don't think there is any person who plays Dominion only to be good at it, without also finding it fun. There are millions of things you can choose to become good at. Why not become good at something that you actually enjoy?

25
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Playing the new Guilds & Cornucopia!
« on: March 23, 2018, 01:17:39 pm »
Uhhhh....

So, not all tokens anymore? Just the debt tokens?
Yes, that's what I'm saying, just Debt tokens.

How are you guys concluding that Possession works on anything other than debt tokens? It's directly contradicted in the above quote.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 33

Page created in 0.322 seconds with 20 queries.