Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - sudgy

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 122
1
General Discussion / Re: Random Stuff Part IV
« on: January 14, 2018, 03:47:24 pm »
My mom was wondering, what's the translation of "Sizilianisches Jagdlied"?  She thinks it's Sicilian Hunting Song, but she just wants to be sure and google translate isn't perfect.

Did she ask you to ask the random stuff thread?

No, but I suggested it, for fear of being wrong.  Even though it wouldn't have been me that was wrong.

2
General Discussion / Re: Random Stuff Part IV
« on: January 13, 2018, 06:12:48 pm »
My mom was wondering, what's the translation of "Sizilianisches Jagdlied"?  She thinks it's Sicilian Hunting Song, but she just wants to be sure and google translate isn't perfect.

3
Other Games / Re: A Link to the Past Randomizer
« on: January 12, 2018, 01:06:47 am »
I just did an entrance randomizer key-sanity run.  4:26:38, but I got pretty unlucky with several things and made a few mistakes.

5
Dominion General Discussion / Re: The more I read the worse I get?
« on: January 07, 2018, 07:04:57 pm »
This is definitely a topic that needs to be discussed, but couldn't it be split into a meta thread or something?

6
General Discussion / Re: STAR WARS
« on: December 31, 2017, 09:09:49 pm »
Also, the whole "I see him strike his true enemy" thing was super on-the-nose, but ok whatever.

If I recall properly, Snoke was basically reading Kylo's mind. He was taunting Rey that he knows everything his apprentice is doing. So I view that scene as Kylo manipulating Luke's lightsaber as he held his own so that Snoke saw his intent but was focused on what was ahead of him. It reminds me of the murder plot of the Minority Report movie. To mask the true intent, he mirrors the actions in order to commit the actual act.

Not that they said anything about that, so maybe I'm blowing smoke out of my ass. But if Snoke is pulling that directly from Kylo's mind, then it makes sense that he would frame it as "my true enemy" and not "Rey," since he had no intention of killing Rey. And he sure as hell couldn't telegraph killing Snoke.

I get that Kylo was trying to muddy his thoughts so that Snoke wouldn't see what was going on. I don't have an issue with that.

It's the phrasing Snoke uses, "I see him strike his true enemy" (if memory serves right) that bothers me. What the hell did he see, that the best way to describe it is that? The "true" in particular is weird, why would Rey be his "true" enemy? As opposed to whom? If anything, that refers to Snoke much more than to Rey, who was the obvious enemy there, so how come Snoke doesn't get even a bit suspicious if he sees that?

I don't know, it broke my suspension of disbelief.

I thought that Kylo was purposely thinking something like "I will strike my true enemy", and Snoke just paraphrased it.

7
Other Games / Re: Let's create an f.ds themed Cards Against Humanity deck!
« on: December 22, 2017, 03:48:44 pm »
White card: how finishing that article on Prince

Darn it, I was going to say something as how, but I forgot his password.

The truth comes out after all these years.

Or are you bluffing? Beware, the real how can show up without notice to defend their honour.

I admitted it back then somewhere.  Someone made a first world problems meme about it, probably in Homage to the Best Card.

8
Other Games / Re: Let's create an f.ds themed Cards Against Humanity deck!
« on: December 22, 2017, 12:29:17 pm »
White card: how finishing that article on Prince

Darn it, I was going to say something as how, but I forgot his password.

9
Solo Challenges / Re: Become king at turn 3
« on: December 18, 2017, 03:44:24 pm »
After reading the thread title, I thought this was the challenge, that anybody can try to figure out if they feel like:

Set up a 3-player game where, on turn three, you have the choice to make either of the other two players win

10
Rules Questions / Re: Crown-Crown-Horn of Plenty-Villa
« on: December 17, 2017, 02:58:27 pm »
I'm almost sure this was already answered, but I can't find the thread.

What happens if you play a Crown A during your buy phase, choosing to play Crown B twice, choosing Horn of Plenty for the first time; choosing to gain a Villa with it?

So you play Horn of Plenty a second time now; but are you already back in your action phase now? So when you play Crown B for the second time, you now choose an action to play twice? Or, has Crown B already locked into the idea that it's being played during your buy phase?

I would think that you would play Horn of Plenty the second time during your Action phase (treasures playing during the Action phase can happen with other things like Black Market and Storyteller anyway), and then Crown B would play an action twice, because it is your Action phase.

11
General Discussion / Re: Random Stuff Part IV
« on: December 15, 2017, 09:01:30 pm »
The temptation to click on the STAR WARS thread is strong.

I've been going there and haven't been spoiled yet.

12
General Discussion / Re: Random Stuff Part IV
« on: December 14, 2017, 01:40:01 am »
Relevant thread:

http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=11311.0

That was Mafia Games.  Here we use true numbers.

(I almost said real numbers, but realized how wrong that could go)

13
Dominion General Discussion / Re: The bad luck thread
« on: December 12, 2017, 11:44:21 am »
I'm trying to think...  Is there any way to use trashed Madmen repeatedly?  You could use Necromancer, but I think that would make the Madmen go back to its pile, and you could only use them once per turn.

EDIT: Never mind that first point, I just looked at the FAQ.

14
Rules Questions / Re: Charm + Inn
« on: December 11, 2017, 09:49:04 pm »
First, you'd have to make sure that when you played Charm that you chose to get the on-buy effect rather than the +$2 +Buy.

You buy the Inn. At this stage, you haven't gained the Inn, so its bottom-line effect doesn't trigger, but Charm's on-buy does.

You gain the Witch. It goes to your discard.

You finally gain the Inn you bought. It goes to your discard and its on-gain triggers, so you can shuffle in both the Witch and the Inn.

If you did it the other way around (buy the Witch, gain the Inn), then you'd only be able to shuffle the Inn into your deck, since you hadn't gained the Witch yet.

If the online game doesn't let you do that, then that sounds like a bug.

In the second scenario, what is dictating that the Witch gain happens after the Inn gain? Is it always reverse order of when remaining events were triggered?

Charm activates on buy, which is before you gain the card.  Charm makes you gain the Inn, then you go back to finishing the buy and you gain the Witch.

15
General Discussion / Re: Random Stuff Part III
« on: December 09, 2017, 12:47:04 pm »
That choice was 1 in 3 to begin with, and that probability does not change because it's not a new problem.

This is probably the most intuitive description I've ever seen describing the solution to the problem.  +1

16
Dominion General Discussion / Re: New German Promo 'Abbruch'
« on: December 08, 2017, 06:36:20 pm »
Yeah, that might undermine attempts to naively search for a list of predetermined words.

What does undermint mean?

90% of the Mint/Mine jokes are like this: Very short posts, coming directly after and/or quoting a post that contains one of the words, having moderate respect. There are two or three subtypes of this, for example such as the one we see, where the quoter swaps which word is used. Or, also popular, such where "mine" is used as the regular word for "my stuff" in the original post, and then the "funny" post writes it capitalized and mentiones Treasures, Engines or a Dominion edition.

Even if I just removed all short posts which mention either card and come right after another post which mentions one of them, as long as I exclude, say, the rules question, puzzle and all Base- or Prosperity-specific threads, I feel there's a low chance of false positives. Nobody talks about Mine or Mint. Going into a case destinction to look for one of the ~3 types of these jokes should probably allow to also apply them to forums where a mention of Mine or Mint is not incredibly unlikely.

Point in case: My post is too long to be a punchline.

I'm glad I could be your visual aid.  That was actually my first and most likely my last mine joke ever! You guys should be so proud

But you can still make Mint jokes.

17
Dominion General Discussion / Re: New German Promo 'Abbruch'
« on: December 07, 2017, 05:39:37 pm »
It would be easier to simply write a bot that automatically makes these kinds of jokes, so that the rest of us don't have to.

...you know, that COULD be doable.  Just scan the forums for mine or mint, find something to say...

18
Other Games / Re: Cookie Clicker?
« on: December 04, 2017, 09:37:14 pm »
Well, Hand of Fate is kind of a game breaker when it fires. Ascended again with millions of HC and have almost all the ascension upgrades. 4 hours and 20 minutes into this one and I already have nearly 13 million HC. Pretty sure I'll get all 350 buildings some time this week. Rapidly approaching the point the only achievements left will be building levels and golden cookie clicks and spells cast. The game definitely starts slow but snowballs quickly when you can directly manipulate the CPS multipliers.

You also seem to be playing actively, which speeds it up a ton.  I have everything set up to maximize cookie production when I'm not around.

19
Online, if you Moat an Ambassador, and no copies are returned, you don't see what is revealed.

I was going to make a bug thread, but then I realized there's a left field interpretation of the rules where that is correct???  Maybe???
"Reveal a card from your hand" is how Ambassador starts. You reveal a card!

Maybe there is an argument to be made that, because of moat, you are unaffected by the attack, and having the card revealed to you is an effect of the attack.

I think it's a bad argument, though.

By that bad argument, once you've Moated you have to close your eyes (and block your ears if the Attacker is announcing their actions) so the Attack can't affect you by making you witness what it does.

But closing your eyes and blocking your ears is an effect of them playing the attack card.

In fact, revealing the Moat is an effect of them playing the attack card!  Santa Claus now exists.

20
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Fun with Setup
« on: December 04, 2017, 06:27:59 pm »
How about just this setup thing:

When you finish resolving an action card that you have only played once this turn, you may spend an action to play that card again.

Maybe tacked on to a village to make it possible to be useful?

EDIT: Fixed so that it can't give you infinite actions

21
Other Games / Re: Cookie Clicker?
« on: November 30, 2017, 01:01:17 pm »
Well I got season switcher. I've popped over 200 wrinklers during a Halloween period and only found 3 of the 7 cookies. Not sure how this is really going to pay off yet. In other news, ascension CPS is incredible, I should have done this way earlier. I ascended with 1460ish HC. I'm already near 9000 HC less than a week later. Also, my first sugar lump was meaty.

Christmas is the big one.  There's so much stuff you get from it.

22
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Homage to the Best Card
« on: November 29, 2017, 03:52:44 pm »
Pirates as chaotic-good? Really?

Surely Noble Brigand is the stand-out exemplar for chaotic-good in Dominion?

It trashes your copper.  That's pretty good.

23
Dominion FAQ / Re: Maximum Possible VP?
« on: November 29, 2017, 03:26:50 pm »
Also, "positive" implies an ordering; I don't know that there's a default ordering on complex integers (or on the complex numbers), which would push the interpretation of "An arbitrary positive integer, happy?" towards ℤ over ℤ[ i ].

https://proofwiki.org/wiki/Complex_Numbers_cannot_be_Totally_Ordered

24
General Discussion / Re: Brag Board
« on: November 28, 2017, 11:32:59 am »
I have 10k respect.

*Quickly unvotes several Awaclus posts*

25
Dominion Articles / Re: Dominion phase diagrams
« on: November 27, 2017, 03:59:12 pm »
First off, I think this is a fantastic idea and can help get actual good definitions that we can agree on.

However, I think that it shouldn't need to be made more accessible.  We don't have to teach deck types and strategies using phase diagrams.  We have other, better ways to describe concepts.  This is just a way that those of us who know the general ideas can get an actual consistent definition in place to describe extremely complex ideas.

Here's an analogy: when calculus was first invented, limits and analysis didn't exist.  Calculus is easily teachable (and easier in my opinion) using vague ideas of tiny quantities that magically disappear sometimes, which is how calculus was first done anyway.  Then you start getting into the weird things that most people that apply calculus (scientists and engineers) don't care about.  Eventually, you start getting the rigorous definitions of calculus using limits and analysis.  It's complicated because it's what was needed to find an actual definition of the ideas.  These phase diagrams are to strategy as analysis is to calculus.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 122

Page created in 0.114 seconds with 18 queries.