Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - ConMan

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 51
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: July 17, 2018, 08:31:07 pm »

Yeah, that one.

Although by all rights, I'm pretty sure we've lost track of the Estate so many times we can't actually call RC (since it doesn't know that it's the same Estate in play).

It doesn't need to. You don't need to know where a card is to call RC upon its resolution.

Also, you need to force opponent to draw a card in between the two Ambassador plays.
I knew I missed something. And yes, as pointed out, RC can only be called if the card is still in play when it finishes resolving (and if it leaves play then comes back into play, especially in a situation where you can't prove it was the same card, then I'd say RC wouldn't be callable).

Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: July 17, 2018, 12:43:17 am »
I Inherit Crown, my opponent Inherits Caravan Guard.

Play Band of Misfits as Crown, playing Estate twice.
.. first play of Estate, play University twice
.... first play of University, gain a Mandarin to top-deck BoM and Estate
.... second play of University, gain a Catacombs and reveal a Watchtower from hand to trash it, drawing the BoM and Estate
.. second play of Estate, play Ambassador
.... first play of Ambassador, return Estate to the supply, opponent gains Estate
.... second play of Ambassador, opponent reacts with Estate, putting it in play
.. Estate has finished resolving, call Royal Carriage

Although by all rights, I'm pretty sure we've lost track of the Estate so many times we can't actually call RC (since it doesn't know that it's the same Estate in play).

Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: July 12, 2018, 10:08:16 pm »
EDIT: With Stonemason on the board, you can get 4 and don't even need the Charm thing.

I think it's more using on-gain effects of kingdom cards.

Are we allowed to leave the Buy phase, then come back into it? Because Villa + Pathfinding could enable some shenanigans.

No, gotta stay in your buy phase.

Are we allowed to have non-Treasure cards in hand AFTER playing a Treasure? I mean,

play Horn of Plenty to gain Border Village
call 3 Duplicates to gain 3 Border Villages
gain Horn of Plenty, Watchtower, Cultist
gain Cursed Village
reveal Locusts to reveal Cultist
draw Watchtower, Horn of Plenty, Cursed Village
gain Copper

play Potion
play Counterfeit to play Horn of Plenty twice
play it to gain Mandarin
play that to gain Cultist
reveal Watchtower to trash it

repeat this 9 times

With enough coin tokens, we can gain 66 Golems if we have enough in Supply.
Nice solution. I bow to your awesomeness. I haven't checked the costs involved, but I wonder if you can incorporate other Treasures to produce sufficient coin to do it all.

Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: July 12, 2018, 01:26:33 am »
I'm going to naively assume that coins are not an issue (since we can play a fairly large number of Treasures including Bank and Fortune), and Buys probably aren't either (given Travelling Fair). Like Awaclus, I would Counterfeit a Potion and and have my -$2 cost token on Golem but *not* play Quarry (so Golems cost $2P). I will also put my Trashing token on Stonemason. So I can get to 6:

* Buy 2 Squires, putting them on my deck (probably Travelling Fair).
* Buy 2 Blessed Villages, receiving The Sea's Gift twice (due to reshuffling the Boons) to draw the Squires.
* Buy 2 Stonemasons, overpaying $2P each to gain 4 Golems and trashing two Squires to gain two Familiars onto my deck.
* Buy 2 Cursed Villages, receiving Locusts both times (due to reshuffling the Hexes), trashing the two Familiars and gaining 2 Golems.

Total cost: $26 and 8 Buys. So Copper + Silver + Gold + Platinum + Counterfeit (Potion) + Bank + Fortune gives $34 and 3 Buys, we can buy Travelling Fair 4 times to make that $26 and 7 Buys so just throw a Royal Seal or something in there to make up the difference.

Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: July 11, 2018, 07:23:14 pm »
Are we allowed to leave the Buy phase, then come back into it? Because Villa + Pathfinding could enable some shenanigans.

Just played this really awesome randomly-generated one. So much awesome stuff going on here.

Hmm. Some of my thoughts:
You can avoid most of the Tax debt through Procession and Remake, which is good since otherwise it would make Fairgrounds a little more painful. Fortress and Wine Merchant are both prime targets for Procession, so you can get yourself plenty of WMs and Hunting Grounds and thus ensure all resources are plentiful. You can even over-gain HGs to trash them to Remake in exchange for some Battlefield points, especially near the end of the game. In fact, I feel like you almost want to build a deck that eats itself to turn into as many different cards as you can to max out Fairgrounds. I'd probably even Remake a few Wine Merchants into Fairgrounds to get the points for it.

I never know how to handle Marauder in a Fairgrounds game. It's probably still a good call, since it slows the opponent's deck early on and I feel like you want to make your own game go fast in exchange. So I guess I'd probably open with Remake (and maybe Poor House, although you'll remake into those quickly enough anyway), try to get a Fortress and a Marauder early on, then do lots of Remake and Procession shenanigans to speed through everything else, aiming to get the $6 cards as quickly as possible for their respective purposes. There are some timing issues I really don't know about though, especially with so many useful cards costing $4 (and coming with Debt).

That categorisation on the wiki seems slightly muddled. To me, it seems to conflate two different ways of categorising card types: by prevalence, and by function.
I'm ok with the categorisation, except that I'd consider the "Special types" to be "Secondary types", as in "Types that never appear on their own" (even though, as noted, a pure Reaction card is theoretically possible).

Rules Questions / Re: summon + death cart vs. summon + nomad camp
« on: June 26, 2018, 09:35:03 pm »
I'm trying to think what would break if the lose-track rule didn't include covering a card in your discard pile, but only moving it from the discard pile. Does that actually cause any issues? I think it's the cover-up part of lose-track that causes the most counter-intuitive rulings.

In order to get the card out of your discard pile, you have to allow for searching through your discard pile, which is not allowed.

Welllll, if you discard a Faithful Hound and four Coppers, technically you then have to search through your discard pile to retrieve the Hound and set it aside. So it's not like there's nothing in the game that implicitly makes you do that anyway.

Yeah, Tunnel and Faithful Hound are messed up. I think it was said back in Tunnel discussions that “when you discard this” really ends up needing to be played as “as you are discarding this.”
"When you would discard this"?

Also, presumably if you don't wind up gaining any Ruins, the Summoned Death Cart will get successfully set aside (Case 1: Ruins pile is empty; Case 2: Trader while Silver pile is empty).

Copper, Silver and Gold are there to ensure that you always have *something* available. Their strength is in their ubiquity, and so they have to be weak (or at least not universally strong) because otherwise the correct strategy in every game would be Big Money No Whammies. As it stands, they're strong enough that on a decent percentage of boards you want to get at least one Silver or Gold at some point.

Treasures in general have the common strength of being spammable, and so they also mostly have the collective weakness of making it harder to fill a hand with them to spam, i.e. they are stop cards. That doesn't make them bad, it just means you have to balance their strength with their weakness like any other card, and like other stop cards you need to decide how many of them you want in your deck.

Dominion General Discussion / Re: Alchemy card revelation...
« on: June 19, 2018, 07:15:42 pm »
I think that Transmute will clearly turn out to be the best card in the set relative to its cost. Turning Estates into Golds is just plain broken.

And it doesn't even cost any coins!
I want to withhold judgement until Donald explains those blue bottles in the cost. We already have coins and debt, so how will those work? I assume you'll have to use cards from your hand to fill some kind of flask that you can then use when it's full to buy the cards, which would be neat.

Other Games / Re: Anybody played Heart of Crown?
« on: June 04, 2018, 02:39:57 am »
Man, how is there more than one moe anime girl deckbuilder displayed prominently in the local board game store?
Because the company that specialises in publishing translations of the huge number of Japanese moe anime girl deckbuilders has a good marketing team. And also people are trash (he says, figuratively staring at his own symbols of trashiness).

Thanks to Ambassador, I managed to buy a Province and trash TWO Hovels. There’s no way it was the best play and I knew that at the time, but when am I ever going to have a chance like that again?
Hovel doesn't have a pile to be returned to, so you can't actually transfer them using Ambassador. Masquerade would work, though.

Dominion General Discussion / Re: Trashing the Engineer
« on: May 23, 2018, 07:21:41 pm »
I played a game with Engineer and Orchard, and that provided some interesting play - finding the balance between trashing the Engineers to get copies of key cards versus keeping them for the points. I don't remember the exact kingdom but there were a few $3 and $4 Action cards and most of them wound up being split quite closely by the end of the game.

Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Card idea: Errand Boy
« on: May 09, 2018, 10:25:49 pm »
How does the "secret" part work? Does everyone hold their chosen token in their fist and then reveal them all at the same time? Eventually they'll have to actually put the tokens on the pile, right?

I like the idea of secret choices being made at the beginning that are only revealed when the game starts, but this seems like a weird and convoluted way to do it. My idea is for each player to secretly choose an Heirloom-like card to replace one of their starting Coppers and that's only revealed when they play it (or when they have to reveal their hand for Bureaucrat etc.)
Yeah, the reveal (and putting the token on the pile) would happen after the Kingdom is set up, before everyone shuffles their starting decks and draws their first hand. (Probably after first player is determined, but maybe not.)

Variants and Fan Cards / Card idea: Errand Boy
« on: May 09, 2018, 07:37:47 pm »
Errand Boy
$4 - Action
+1 Card
+1 Action
Setup: Each player secretly chooses their +1 Action, +1 Buy or +$1 token to place on this pile. (When you play a card from this pile, you first get that bonus.)

Should be balanced enough at $4? Gives you what you need (as long as what you need isn't draw or trashing - the first makes the card hard to price, and the second makes it harder to describe succintly). I suppose you could also have the players choose in turn order, if that makes much of a difference?

Dominion General Discussion / Re: A quick Temple tip
« on: April 17, 2018, 07:16:14 pm »
This way, you will win the game, which makes it impossible for you to lose.

Dominion has a move that makes it impossible to lose? Man, what a broken game.

alls you gotta do is buy silver, or something better than silver
Pro-tip: On a coins-provided-per-coin-cost basis, Copper is infinitely better than Silver.

Dominion General Discussion / Re: Losing streaks
« on: April 12, 2018, 07:38:28 pm »
A simple example of how we don't understand randomness inherently - imagine flipping a fair coin 10 times, and write down the results. Now flip a real coin 10 times, and write down the results. If someone does this exercise blindly (i.e. without knowing what I'm about to spoil), I could probably pick the fake result because the real result is likely to have a streak of 3 or more of the same flip, whereas someone trying to make up a believable-looking result will probably only have a maximum streak of 2.

I've seen someone just a make a BM deck with the randomizers.  If you buy a card, remove the randomizer from the deck, and then find a copy of the appropriate cards.
I've done that, and once you have enough expansions it is a huuuuuuge pain.

Let's Discuss ... / Re: Let's Discuss Nocturne Cards: Conclave
« on: April 04, 2018, 02:23:01 am »
- Are there any cards you can compare it to? Maybe some Throne Room variants?
How about Festival? Costs $1 more, gives +Buy, getting two actions is unconditional.

This has now got me thinking about edge cases: Conclave plays a card at once, before it's finished resolving. Is there some useful hack you can do with that? The best I can think of is using Conclave to play a Royal Carriage then immediately calling the Royal Carriage on the Conclave.
Kind of oddly, you can Throne Room the Conclave, use it to play two Royal Carriages, then call the RCs to play either the Conclave or the Throne Room another couple of times (but you can't play more RCs with the third or fourth play of the Conclave).

So Conclave + Reserve is a decent combination too. Something like Conclave + Wine Merchant/Distant Lands + Draw-to-X would be quite neat, if nothing else.

Rules Questions / Strange things with Necromancer and Overlord
« on: March 23, 2018, 12:05:54 am »
After reading this post, I started wondering two things:

1. Does the card played by Necromancer get turned over when it's chosen, or after it finishes being played? (My guess is the latter)
2. Does an Overlord being played from the trash stay an Overlord (since it's not in play), or does it get stuck as the card it was played at (since it never leaves play)?

Because depending on how those resolve, then you could do this:

I have two Necromancers in hand. There is an Overlord in the trash, and a Throne Room in the supply. I play the first Necromancer, using it to play the Overlord. I choose to play the Overlord as Throne Room, using it to play the second Necromancer twice. The Overlord is still an Overlord (depending on the ruling for (2)) and is still face-up (depending on the ruling for (1)), so I can choose to use the Necromancer to play it again, potentially picking another card in the supply.  When that's done, I turn the Overlord face-down, so I can't use the second play of the Throned Necromancer to play it again.

I played a Necromancer as an Overlord as a Necromancer as a Sacred Grove.
That's neat, but why were any of the additional steps necessary?

Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Dominion: Ice Age
« on: March 20, 2018, 06:00:45 pm »
I agree, maybe something like:

"+2 Cards
Put this on your tavern mat.
During your Action phase, you may spend an action to call this. If you do, +2 Cards."

Dominion General Discussion / Re: Dominion jokes/pick-up lines
« on: March 19, 2018, 07:12:15 pm »
Why did the expert dominion player buy a scout?
Because he was playing <insert another game where a Scout is actually a good thing to buy, I dunno go Google it or something>.

Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Dominion: Metropolis
« on: March 15, 2018, 09:20:48 pm »
Dismissal $4
Action - Reaction
Return up to two cards in your hand or discard pile to the supply.

If Dismissal is returned to the supply gain a card costing up to 5 from the supply.

I'm just wondering - do I have the wording of this right here. Does it know who is gaining the 4 cost card (the previous owner of Dismissal is who it should be) or does it lose track of that? It seems identical to Hunting Grounds so I assume no problems.
I also think this version becomes quite useful to the set. You can Dismiss a Dismissal to gain a Doomsayer and then return your excess Doomsayers later rather than be choked with them. And returning them to the supply makes gaining them useful again.
You should say "If you return Dismissal to the supply, ...". Otherwise, the wording here suggests that *every* player gains a card from the supply.

The cursed gold is in your deck regardless.
That much is true, but that doesn't mean that buying the Hireling is going to be a great option. If you ignore the CG that turn and use your coins to buy Silver, you can use that towards buying the Hireling on the next shuffle, which will be of similar overall utility to doing it the other way around, but won't cost you a point. And that's assuming that Silver/Hireling is the best you can do on the board, in which case heaven help you.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 51

Page created in 0.105 seconds with 18 queries.