Dominion Strategy Forum

Dominion => Rules Questions => Topic started by: wrathofmine on August 13, 2012, 04:44:54 am

Title: Hoard / Trader
Post by: wrathofmine on August 13, 2012, 04:44:54 am
With Hoard in play and Trader in my hand, can I buy an estate, reveal a trader to gain a silver instead, but still gain the gold from the hoard ?

I would say yes because for me the gain "triggers" after the buy, and hoard gives a gold on buy, but I'm not sure of me ? can someone confirm that or tell me where I'm wrong ?
Title: Re: Hoard / Trader
Post by: Davio on August 13, 2012, 04:55:20 am
Yes, gain triggers after buy.

You could also reveal Trader to receive Silver instead of Gold from Hoard which may only be useful with the new card Feodum.
Title: Re: Hoard / Trader
Post by: ftl on August 13, 2012, 04:59:16 am
Yep.

The way Dominion works, first you Buy the card, and then you Gain it.

Hoard says "While this is in play, when you buy a Victory card, gain a Gold." So when you Buy the estate, you gain the Gold; you can then reveal Trader to Gain a silver instead of the Estate.

(The same thing also works with other on-Buy effects like Farmland, Talisman, etc.)
Title: Re: Hoard / Trader
Post by: wrathofmine on August 13, 2012, 05:08:32 am
Good, thanks for your answers.

- hand: Contraband, Hoard, Hoard, Trader
- my opponent sees a Hoard trick coming and vetoes Great Hall
- does'nt matter I buy two Estates, revealing my Trader, so I gain 4 Golds and 2 Silvers this turn (just before a reshuffle)... wait can I do that ?

happy to know it really worked.
Title: Re: Hoard / Trader
Post by: BMan on August 14, 2012, 12:45:35 pm
From the Hinterlands rulebook:

"When you buy a card, you first buy it, then gain it; so for example if you buy Noble Brigand and have Trader in your hand, you first resolve what the Noble Brigand does when you buy it, and then can choose to use Trader's 'when you gain' ability. You can sometimes buy a card without gaining it, such as by using Trader to gain Silver instead, or due to the Dominion: Alchemy card Possession."

So, yes, you could play a Hoard, buy an Estate, immediately gain a Gold, reveal Trader, and gain a Silver instead of the Estate. I.e., you're gaining Gold-Silver.
Title: Re: Hoard / Trader
Post by: Thisisnotasmile on August 14, 2012, 12:51:22 pm
From the Hinterlands rulebook:

"When you buy a card, you first buy it, then gain it; so for example if you buy Noble Brigand and have Trader in your hand, you first resolve what the Noble Brigand does when you buy it, and then can choose to use Trader's 'when you gain' ability. You can sometimes buy a card without gaining it, such as by using Trader to gain Silver instead, or due to the Dominion: Alchemy card Possession."

So, yes, you could play a Hoard, buy an Estate, immediately gain a Gold, reveal Trader, and gain a Silver instead of the Estate. I.e., you're gaining Gold-Silver.

Heh. I had to check the rulebook myself but it does actually say that. Maybe that needs fixing for future print runs since Trader does not have a 'when you gain' ability.
Title: Re: Hoard / Trader
Post by: eHalcyon on August 14, 2012, 12:59:33 pm
From the Hinterlands rulebook:

"When you buy a card, you first buy it, then gain it; so for example if you buy Noble Brigand and have Trader in your hand, you first resolve what the Noble Brigand does when you buy it, and then can choose to use Trader's 'when you gain' ability. You can sometimes buy a card without gaining it, such as by using Trader to gain Silver instead, or due to the Dominion: Alchemy card Possession."

So, yes, you could play a Hoard, buy an Estate, immediately gain a Gold, reveal Trader, and gain a Silver instead of the Estate. I.e., you're gaining Gold-Silver.

Heh. I had to check the rulebook myself but it does actually say that. Maybe that needs fixing for future print runs since Trader does not have a 'when you gain' ability.

Sure it does, though the wording may be confusing.  Trader has an ability that activates "when you gain" something else.
Title: Re: Hoard / Trader
Post by: Kirian on August 14, 2012, 01:10:28 pm
From the Hinterlands rulebook:

"When you buy a card, you first buy it, then gain it; so for example if you buy Noble Brigand and have Trader in your hand, you first resolve what the Noble Brigand does when you buy it, and then can choose to use Trader's 'when you gain' ability. You can sometimes buy a card without gaining it, such as by using Trader to gain Silver instead, or due to the Dominion: Alchemy card Possession."

So, yes, you could play a Hoard, buy an Estate, immediately gain a Gold, reveal Trader, and gain a Silver instead of the Estate. I.e., you're gaining Gold-Silver.

Whoa, I'd never noticed that particular one.  Noble Brigand: you can attack other people without gaining this, if you do it right!
Title: Re: Hoard / Trader
Post by: Thisisnotasmile on August 14, 2012, 01:18:11 pm
From the Hinterlands rulebook:

"When you buy a card, you first buy it, then gain it; so for example if you buy Noble Brigand and have Trader in your hand, you first resolve what the Noble Brigand does when you buy it, and then can choose to use Trader's 'when you gain' ability. You can sometimes buy a card without gaining it, such as by using Trader to gain Silver instead, or due to the Dominion: Alchemy card Possession."

So, yes, you could play a Hoard, buy an Estate, immediately gain a Gold, reveal Trader, and gain a Silver instead of the Estate. I.e., you're gaining Gold-Silver.

Heh. I had to check the rulebook myself but it does actually say that. Maybe that needs fixing for future print runs since Trader does not have a 'when you gain' ability.

Sure it does, though the wording may be confusing.  Trader has an ability that activates "when you gain" something else.

Nope. It has an ability that activates "when you would gain" something. The "would" makes all the difference.
Title: Re: Hoard / Trader
Post by: eHalcyon on August 14, 2012, 02:47:26 pm
From the Hinterlands rulebook:

"When you buy a card, you first buy it, then gain it; so for example if you buy Noble Brigand and have Trader in your hand, you first resolve what the Noble Brigand does when you buy it, and then can choose to use Trader's 'when you gain' ability. You can sometimes buy a card without gaining it, such as by using Trader to gain Silver instead, or due to the Dominion: Alchemy card Possession."

So, yes, you could play a Hoard, buy an Estate, immediately gain a Gold, reveal Trader, and gain a Silver instead of the Estate. I.e., you're gaining Gold-Silver.

Heh. I had to check the rulebook myself but it does actually say that. Maybe that needs fixing for future print runs since Trader does not have a 'when you gain' ability.

Sure it does, though the wording may be confusing.  Trader has an ability that activates "when you gain" something else.

Nope. It has an ability that activates "when you would gain" something. The "would" makes all the difference.

I stand corrected.