Dominion Strategy Forum

Dominion => Rules Questions => Topic started by: CaptainTheo on July 14, 2021, 12:49:26 am

Title: Timing of Ball
Post by: CaptainTheo on July 14, 2021, 12:49:26 am
The Event named Ball tells you to gain 2 cards costing up to 4. My question is, do you gain them simultaneously, or one after the other? I've always assumed it was the latter.

This would affect cards like Destrier, if you've gained one card before buying Ball, given that as long as they're not simultaneous, gaining the first card reduces Destrier's cost to $4 so it could be the second card gained, and Wayfarer would be similar. If they were simultaneous and your deck had been empty, then it would seem that you would be able to gain two Fishermen with Ball.
Title: Re: Timing of Ball
Post by: AJD on July 14, 2021, 01:31:45 am
You are correct; they are (selected and) gained one at a time, so gaining the first one reduces the cost of Destrier and takes up space in your discard pile before you select the second one.
Title: Re: Timing of Ball
Post by: Jeebus on July 14, 2021, 09:24:25 am
Costs can change in the middle of resolving an ability. If you trash a Destrier with Stonemason or Develop, it costs $1 less after you gain the first card. If you for instance Stonemason a Destrier costing $6, you first gain a card cheaper than $6, then gain one cheaper than $5.

Likewise, if you buy Ball, or overpay for Stonemason, or use Stonemason or Develop to trash another card, Destrier costs $1 less after you gain the first card. You could for instance Develop a Gold to first gain a $7 cost card, reducing Destrierís cost to $5, then gain Destrier. If you overpay for Stonemason to gain a Destrier, you canít gain a second one.

Title: Re: Timing of Ball
Post by: CaptainTheo on July 18, 2021, 05:34:49 pm
Thanks for the response!