Dominion Strategy Forum

Dominion => Dominion FAQ => Topic started by: BobbyZim on May 28, 2018, 02:31:48 am

Title: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: BobbyZim on May 28, 2018, 02:31:48 am
OK. I've searched every thread on this and not found the answer to my three questions about Counterfeit (I play only the card game). Please someone let me know if my understanding is right:

1.) As Counterfeit is a Treasure, you do not play it until the Buy phase, so it does not require a +1 (or more) Action to play if you play an Action card first.
2.) The +1 Buy is automatic.
3.) The other Treasure card can be played twice in the first buy (e.g.: a Copper or another Counterfeit is worth 2, a Silver worth 4, a Gold worth 6), OR the Treasure can be played once in the first buy, and then again in the second buy (e.g.: the Copper + Counterfeit = an Estate, and then the Copper is played again to buy a Poor House, and then trash the Copper).

Is this correct?
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: kieranmillar on May 28, 2018, 05:13:54 am
There is no concept of playing treasures in "the first buy" or "the second buy". In your buy phase you play all treasures you want to BEFORE buying anything. Then you sum up the total coin you have and then buy up to as many cards as you are allowed to according to the additional buys your played cards give using that total coin pool. You do not have to assign each treasure card to a particular purchase.

Note that once you've bought a card, you can't play any more treasures. So you need to do all your treasure card playing first before buying anything. This matters for cards like Grand Market, so you cannot for example, play 3 silvers, buy Grand Market, then play 3 coppers and buy a silver.
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: Jack Rudd on May 28, 2018, 06:40:44 am
Your points 1 and 2, however, are entirely correct.
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: BobbyZim on May 29, 2018, 02:33:34 pm
Note that once you've bought a card, you can't play any more treasures. So you need to do all your treasure card playing first before buying anything. This matters for cards like Grand Market, so you cannot for example, play 3 silvers, buy Grand Market, then play 3 coppers and buy a silver.

Thank you very much for your reply, except now I'm a little confused:

I don't yet have the Prosperity expansion (we just played our first time this past Christmas and have been playing almost daily since February, but we only have the original, Intrigue and Dark Ages thus far), but I looked up Grand Market.

The wiki said if you use Coppers to buy a Mint before buying Grand Market, once you have trashed your Treasure cards, you can then buy a Grand Market if you don't use Coppers.

So I'm not sure which is correct?

EDIT: Never mind. I think I understand now.

So if you play 11 Coins - say three Golds and two Coppers - with a +1 Buy, first buy a Mint, trash all those treasures, the Coppers are out of play, but you still have 6 Coins left over to buy a Grand Market. Right?

Same way if, for instance, you play a Procession on a Festival, then trash the Festival before the Buy phase, you still have the +2 Buys and +4 Coins for the Buy phase. Is that right?
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: Awaclus on May 29, 2018, 02:55:58 pm
EDIT: Never mind. I think I understand now.

So if you play 11 Coins - say three Golds and two Coppers - with a +1 Buy, first buy a Mint, trash all those treasures, the Coppers are out of play, but you still have 6 Coins left over to buy a Grand Market. Right?

Same way if, for instance, you play a Procession on a Festival, then trash the Festival before the Buy phase, you still have the +2 Buys and +4 Coins for the Buy phase. Is that right?

Yes, that is all correct.
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: GendoIkari on May 29, 2018, 02:56:33 pm

EDIT: Never mind. I think I understand now.

So if you play 11 Coins - say three Golds and two Coppers - with a +1 Buy, first buy a Mint, trash all those treasures, the Coppers are out of play, but you still have 6 Coins left over to buy a Grand Market. Right?

Same way if, for instance, you play a Procession on a Festival, then trash the Festival before the Buy phase, you still have the +2 Buys and +4 Coins for the Buy phase. Is that right?

Correct. The main thing you seem to have been mixed up on is thinking that you use Treasure cards to buy things. You don't! You never "spend 4 Coppers on a Smithy". You never "use a Gold to purchase a Village". Instead, think of Treasures as just Action cards that are played at a different time (and don't require an action to play). The (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/images/thumb/3/3d/Coin2.png/16px-Coin2.png) that you get from playing a Silver is no different than the (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/images/thumb/3/3d/Coin2.png/16px-Coin2.png) that you get for playing a Militia. Both Silver and Militia are cards that give you (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/images/thumb/3/3d/Coin2.png/16px-Coin2.png) when you play them. After you play your actions and your treasures, you add up all the (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/images/thumb/6/6d/Coin.png/16px-Coin.png) that you've gotten, and that's how much you have to spend.


And welcome to the forum!
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: BobbyZim on May 29, 2018, 08:47:39 pm
Correct. The main thing you seem to have been mixed up on is thinking that you use Treasure cards to buy things. You don't! You never "spend 4 Coppers on a Smithy". You never "use a Gold to purchase a Village". Instead, think of Treasures as just Action cards that are played at a different time (and don't require an action to play). The (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/images/thumb/3/3d/Coin2.png/16px-Coin2.png) that you get from playing a Silver is no different than the (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/images/thumb/3/3d/Coin2.png/16px-Coin2.png) that you get for playing a Militia. Both Silver and Militia are cards that give you (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/images/thumb/3/3d/Coin2.png/16px-Coin2.png) when you play them. After you play your actions and your treasures, you add up all the (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/images/thumb/6/6d/Coin.png/16px-Coin.png) that you've gotten, and that's how much you have to spend.


And welcome to the forum!

Thank you all very, very much for the help, and for the welcome to the forum. Again, we're newbies, and I honestly did try to find the answer to this question before asking it.

That said, I do have two more questions, one of which - having looked at the wiki and the forum - I think I have right, the other of which we've kind of wavered on in playing:


Thanks very much again for all your help!
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: crj on May 29, 2018, 09:00:01 pm
The best way to think about this may be to imagine you have a line of dials in front of you. One says how many actions you can play, one says how many cards you can buy, one says how much spending money you have.

At the start of the turn, those dials get set to 1 action, 1 buy, no spending money.

During your action phase, you play Action cards. Each time you play one, your actions dial goes down by one. If it's at zero, you can't play any more actions; you have to end your action phase and proceed to your buy phase, even if you have more Action cards in hand.

If you play a card that says "+1 Action", your actions dial goes up by one. If you play a card that says "+2 Actions", your actions dial goes up by two. And so on. "+1 Action" does not mean "play another action"; it means increase the number of actions you'll be able to play this turn. If, for example, your action phase consisted of playing Village, then Smithy, then Remodel, you would finish playing Village before you began playing Smithy.

Throne Room (and a handful of other cards, for example Vassal if you have the Second Edition base) are different. They explicitly say to play a card. So when you play Throne Room, you select a card from your hand, play it (completely resolving it), play it again (completely resolving it again) and only then are you done playing Throne Room. When you play a card because you're told to, that doesn't decrease the number of actions you have available.
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: BobbyZim on May 29, 2018, 09:15:02 pm
The best way to think about this may be to imagine you have a line of dials in front of you. One says how many actions you can play, one says how many cards you can buy, one says how much spending money you have.

At the start of the turn, those dials get set to 1 action, 1 buy, no spending money.

OK. That makes a lot of sense.

But just so I'm clear (because I think what I'm about to say is right): +X Cards are the first thing you do.

So if you play, say, a Wandering Minstrel:


Right?
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: samath on May 29, 2018, 09:33:06 pm
But just so I'm clear (because I think what I'm about to say is right): +X Cards are the first thing you do.

Right?
You always execute the actions on a card in order in the order written on the card. Often this means that you draw cards first, but some cards (e.g. Cellar) have you do something else first. What you wrote for Wandering Minstrel is correct.
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: chipperMDW on May 29, 2018, 09:40:43 pm
The best way to think about this may be to imagine you have a line of dials in front of you. One says how many actions you can play, one says how many cards you can buy, one says how much spending money you have.

At the start of the turn, those dials get set to 1 action, 1 buy, no spending money.

OK. That makes a lot of sense.

But just so I'm clear (because I think what I'm about to say is right): +X Cards are the first thing you do.

So if you play, say, a Wandering Minstrel:

  • Draw one card.
  • Reveal the Top 3 cards of your deck (etc.).
  • If you have another Action - either from the card you drew or already in hand - now you play that.

Right?

When you play a card, you do everything on that card (save for anything below a dividing line) in order.

As allowed during your action phase, you play Wandering Minstrel. (And as with all action cards played at this time, this is done at the cost of reducing your action count by 1).  Following the instructions on the card, you:

   1. Draw one card.
   2. Increase your action count by 2
   3. Reveal [blah blah blah]

At that point, you've finished playing Wandering Minstrel and, since you're still in the action phase and your action count is at least 2, you may play another action card from your hand.  And maybe another one after you finish playing that one.

Imagine that you represent actions by using beads or tokens. (You could even actually do this for a few games if it helps.) The game gives you one action "token" at the start of your turn. In the action phase, you are allowed to play an action card at the cost of giving up one of your action "tokens." Some action cards say "+1 Action" or "+2 Actions"; when you play those, you take that many action "tokens" back. If you have any action "tokens" left after playing an action card, you may play another one, again handing in one of your action "tokens." When you run out of action "tokens," or when you decide you're done playing action cards, you move on to the buy phase.  At the end of the turn (or at least before the beginning of your next turn), you lose any action "tokens" you didn't spend.

Since you're familiar with the wiki, you might take a look at Diadem (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Diadem) and see if that makes the idea any clearer.
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: BobbyZim on May 30, 2018, 02:36:33 pm
Imagine that you represent actions by using beads or tokens. (You could even actually do this for a few games if it helps.) The game gives you one action "token" at the start of your turn. In the action phase, you are allowed to play an action card at the cost of giving up one of your action "tokens." Some action cards say "+1 Action" or "+2 Actions"; when you play those, you take that many action "tokens" back. If you have any action "tokens" left after playing an action card, you may play another one, again handing in one of your action "tokens." When you run out of action "tokens," or when you decide you're done playing action cards, you move on to the buy phase.

Yes, that does help, thank you very much.

I think what caused the confusion here was when I looked up Shanty Town (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Shanty_Town) on the wiki. At first, this is how we played it:


But because of some confusion, I think, I had read the wiki entry as saying:


If you'll forgive me one more stupid newbie question, which I'm 98% sure is the last one:

We had it right the first time. In other words, we were either eligible for the +2 Cards immediately upon playing Shanty Town, or we lost the +2 Cards forever. But we still had the +2 Actions until either we used them or moved to the Buy phase.

Is that right?
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: GendoIkari on May 30, 2018, 03:15:55 pm
You were playing Shanty Town (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Shanty_Town) correctly. But you still seem to be over-complicating it. The proper way to play Shanty Town is this:

Start your turn with 1 Action.
1) Play Shanty Town (Which costs 1 Action, you now have 0).
2) +2 Actions (Add 2 to your Action pool, you now have 2).
3) Reveal your hand
3a) You have no actions cards in hand, so +2 Cards (Draw 2 cards)
3b) You do have an action card in hand, so nothing else happens.

Shanty Town is now completely done.

Whether you followed 3a or 3b, you end up with 2 Actions available. If you have any actions in hand at this point, you can play them.
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: BobbyZim on May 30, 2018, 03:40:20 pm
Thank you all again very much. I think I've got it.

So that would also apply to, say, playing Village on Throne Room. In other words, we play Throne Room, then play Village. We draw one card. We put 2 Actions into our "Action bank," as it were, or on our "Action dial." Now we draw another card and can play up to 4 more Actions, whether they are currently in our hands, or whether we draw them through a subsequent Action card that gives + Cards (say, Witch).

If I've got it, thanks so much to everybody again. Now we totally know what we're doing...

Until we get our copy of Seaside next week.  :o
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: crj on May 30, 2018, 04:06:44 pm
Yup!

An entirely reasonable turn might be:
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: BobbyZim on May 30, 2018, 05:06:34 pm
Yup!

An entirely reasonable turn might be:

Hah! "An entirely reasonable turn," perhaps, but as I have found, my housemate I play with hates it when a turn takes 15 minutes. I, on the other hand, love it.  :P

Thank you all very much again. This has been greatly appreciated.
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: crj on May 30, 2018, 08:20:01 pm
Things will probably get quicker with practice. I doubt I'd spend more than a minute on that turn; two tops. (-8

One of the greatest innovations in Dominion was the idea of having people draw their next hand during cleanup for the turn before. As well as making various kinds of attack and reaction possible, it means you get to plan your turn a bit while other people are playing.
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: Donald X. on May 31, 2018, 12:18:11 am
One of the greatest innovations in Dominion was the idea of having people draw their next hand during cleanup for the turn before. As well as making various kinds of attack and reaction possible, it means you get to plan your turn a bit while other people are playing.
That was not my innovation. Filthy Rich does that, and I asked its designer, Richard Garfield, about that mechanic specifically, why did he do it that way.
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: BobbyZim on June 04, 2018, 03:27:21 am
OK. I just wanted to say/ask four things:


Thanks again so much for any clarifications. I will say we are loving this game, and again, we play at least one game almost every day, and we play a lot of games.
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: markus on June 04, 2018, 05:16:37 am
2) It's correct that you don't play Treasures at once but one after the other.

3) That is correct.

4) Tokens are supposed to be unlimited. Use all that you have and if you run out find some other way to record it.
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: Chris is me on June 04, 2018, 07:03:32 am
2) It's correct that you don't play Treasures at once but one after the other.

3) That is correct.

4) Tokens are supposed to be unlimited. Use all that you have and if you run out find some other way to record it.

You do play treasures one after the other, but all of your treasures are played in the same window of time, which is before any cards are bought. This occasionally matters for stuff like Horn of Plenty. But you cant play any more treasures after you buy anything (exc. Villa, Black Market)
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: markusin on June 04, 2018, 09:01:23 am
2) It's correct that you don't play Treasures at once but one after the other.

3) That is correct.

4) Tokens are supposed to be unlimited. Use all that you have and if you run out find some other way to record it.

You do play treasures one after the other, but all of your treasures are played in the same window of time, which is before any cards are bought. This occasionally matters for stuff like Horn of Plenty. But you cant play any more treasures after you buy anything (exc. Villa, Black Market)

Since they've already been brought up, you also cannot spend Coin Tokens after you buy anything during the Buy Phase. You have to cash in all the coin tokens you want to spend in the same time window that you play treasures during the Buy Phase, so before anything is bought. This matters especially for Merchant Guild. You also cannot spend Coin Tokens when buying cards from Black Market.
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: crj on June 04, 2018, 10:05:03 am
To be clear, the standard turn sequence, often abbreviated to (A)ction, (B)uy, (C)lean-up is actually:

For completeness, the expansions complicate this a little:
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: sudgy on June 04, 2018, 12:39:02 pm
or completeness, the expansions complicate this a little:
  • Action phase:
    • Start-of-turn effects (e.g. those caused by having played a Duration last turn)
    • While you still have actions, play as many Action cards as you like, one by one
  • Buy phase:
    • Start-of-buy-phase effects
    • Play as many Treasures and coin tokens as you like, one by one
    • As many times as you like:
      • Pay off debt, or
      • (providing you still have buys and are not in debt) buy a card from the Supply, or an Event
    • End-of-buy-phase effects
  • Night phase: play as many Night cards as you like, one by one
  • Clean-up phase:
    • Start-of-cleanup-phase effects
    • Discard the cards you have in play - except Durations that are still in force - and the cards remaining in your hand (in any order)
    • Draw a new hand of 5 cards
    • End-of-turn effects
  • Check to see if the game has ended
  • After-your-turn effects

Do start of your turn effects happen in your Action phase?  I've always assumed they happen before your Action phase.
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: Awaclus on June 04, 2018, 12:53:35 pm
or completeness, the expansions complicate this a little:
  • Action phase:
    • Start-of-turn effects (e.g. those caused by having played a Duration last turn)
    • While you still have actions, play as many Action cards as you like, one by one
  • Buy phase:
    • Start-of-buy-phase effects
    • Play as many Treasures and coin tokens as you like, one by one
    • As many times as you like:
      • Pay off debt, or
      • (providing you still have buys and are not in debt) buy a card from the Supply, or an Event
    • End-of-buy-phase effects
  • Night phase: play as many Night cards as you like, one by one
  • Clean-up phase:
    • Start-of-cleanup-phase effects
    • Discard the cards you have in play - except Durations that are still in force - and the cards remaining in your hand (in any order)
    • Draw a new hand of 5 cards
    • End-of-turn effects
  • Check to see if the game has ended
  • After-your-turn effects

Do start of your turn effects happen in your Action phase?  I've always assumed they happen before your Action phase.

Technically they do. There's nothing before the Action phase.
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: GendoIkari on June 04, 2018, 01:42:29 pm
or completeness, the expansions complicate this a little:
  • Action phase:
    • Start-of-turn effects (e.g. those caused by having played a Duration last turn)
    • While you still have actions, play as many Action cards as you like, one by one
  • Buy phase:
    • Start-of-buy-phase effects
    • Play as many Treasures and coin tokens as you like, one by one
    • As many times as you like:
      • Pay off debt, or
      • (providing you still have buys and are not in debt) buy a card from the Supply, or an Event
    • End-of-buy-phase effects
  • Night phase: play as many Night cards as you like, one by one
  • Clean-up phase:
    • Start-of-cleanup-phase effects
    • Discard the cards you have in play - except Durations that are still in force - and the cards remaining in your hand (in any order)
    • Draw a new hand of 5 cards
    • End-of-turn effects
  • Check to see if the game has ended
  • After-your-turn effects

Do start of your turn effects happen in your Action phase?  I've always assumed they happen before your Action phase.

Technically they do. There's nothing before the Action phase.

Yes, this actually matters if you Prince (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Prince) or Summon (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Summon) a Crown (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Crown) (using cost reduction).
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: BobbyZim on June 04, 2018, 04:36:36 pm
Hoo, boy. OK. I can see there are going to be even more questions as I get more expansions. So I'm just going to keep this thread in my bookmarks and reread it all through all my future expansions.

But now all of this discussion brings up four new questions, the first two of which come up because I looked at the wiki for Procession (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Procession), and I was at first confused, but now I think I really have finally got it. The latter two go back to the original subject of the thread title, which is Counterfeit (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Counterfeit).

Thanks so, so, so much again.
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: GendoIkari on June 04, 2018, 05:13:17 pm
If you Procession a Duration card, the Duration card is out of play, but its effects remain, but they are not doubled. For example, if I Procession a Wharf (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Wharf), first I draw 2 cards and add +1 Buy to my "Buy bank." Then I draw 2 more cards and add +1 Buy to my "Buy bank" (for a total of +2 Buys, or 3 Buys). Then I trash the Wharf and gain an Action card costing 6 - say, for example, an Artisan - onto my discard pile. I then make between 0 and 3 Buys with whatever Treasure I have, and in Clean-Up, I discard the Procession and the Treasure cards. Then at the start of my next turn, in what I guess you'd call my "zeroeth Action," as it were, because it happens during my Action phase but does not cost me an Action, I draw 2 cards and add +1 Buy to my "Buy bank," for a total of 2 Buys. The Wharf's effects now being gone, it has been completely resolved, and I don't draw 2 more cards and get another +1 Buy, nor do I start the turn after that with +2 Cards and +1 Buy as my "zeroeth Action." Correct?


Not correct. When you Procession Wharf, you play Wharf twice. So you do this:

(First play)
1) Draw 2 cards and get +1 buy
2) Start of next turn draw 2 cards and get +1 buy
(Second play)
3) Draw another 2 cards and get another +1 buy
4) Start of next turn, draw another 2 cards and get another +1 buy.

So at the start of next turn, you will draw a total of 4 cards and get +2 buys. There is no difference in effects between playing 2 separate Wharfs, and playing the same Wharf twice, whether using Procession or Throne Room to do so.

The important thing here is that the Wharf doesn't need to be in play to do anything next turn. You played it twice, so you get all of its effects twice, both this turn and next.

Quote
Assuming that first question is correct that remains true even if another player has - between the end of my last turn and the start of the next, taken that Wharf out of the Trash by playing, say a Graverobber (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Graverobber). Right?

Right, it doesn't matter at all what happens to the actual physical card after you play it. Makes no difference if it is in the trash, in play, or in your opponent's library or in their play area.

Quote
So if I play a Counterfeit, and I play subsequent Treasure cards one-by-one, let's say I play a Counterfeit and then a Gold. Do I announce the Gold is the one I'm playing twice and then immediately trash it to take it out of play, but still have the 6 Coins it confers? (I ask for in the future, when I get Prosperity and may wish to do this with a Counterfeit on a Copper to buy a Grand Market (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Grand_Market), for instance.)

To be technical, you don't just "announce" Gold in any way, you simply play it, twice, then trash it. Each time you play the Gold, you will get +(http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/images/thumb/3/32/Coin3.png/16px-Coin3.png), so it will give you a total of +(http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/images/thumb/6/6f/Coin6.png/16px-Coin6.png), in addition to the (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/images/thumb/f/f7/Coin1.png/16px-Coin1.png) from Counterfeit. Just like with the action cards and Procession, it doesn't matter what happens to the Treasure cards after they are played. They give you (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/images/thumb/6/6d/Coin.png/16px-Coin.png) when you play them, and you still have that (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/images/thumb/6/6d/Coin.png/16px-Coin.png) whether the Treasure stays in play, or gets trashed, or gets moved to the top of your deck with Mandarin (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Mandarin).

Quote
On that note, if I play a Counterfeit on a Spoils, is it just like my above question, except after that, I put the Spoils back on the Spoils pile? Or does it stay in the Trash? (I ask because that matters for something like, say, Forager (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Forager).)


Spoils will not ever go to the trash in this case. You always do everything in the order it is written..
1. Play Counterfeit, which tells you to play a treasure twice.
2. Play Spoils. Get (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/images/thumb/3/32/Coin3.png/16px-Coin3.png), and return Spoils to the Spoils pile.
3. Play Spoils. Get (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/images/thumb/3/32/Coin3.png/16px-Coin3.png), and try but fail to return the Spoils to the Spoils pile, because it has already been moved there.
4. Try and fail to trash the Spoils, because it has been moved, so the Counterfeit cannot "find" it to trash it. This is called the Lose-Track rule.

The last question implies that you are missing the important fact that you must do everything written on the cards in order. So when Counterfeit tells you to play a Treasure card, you play that Treasure card, doing everything it says fully, before you ever get back to Counterfeit's "trash that Treasure". Spoil's "Return this to the Spoils pile" happens first.
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: BobbyZim on June 04, 2018, 05:32:44 pm

Thank you all again so very much for helping the stupid newbie. I hope I'm not annoying you with my questions.
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: GendoIkari on June 04, 2018, 08:07:04 pm
For number 3, you generally do narrorate things as you do them, such as I play Village, draw a card. Silver, Silver, Cooper, buy a Witch. Your turn.

But the difference between Pawn and Counterfiet is that with Pawn, stating your choices out loud is the only way to let your opponent know what you have chosen. With Counterfiet, your choice becomes known because you actually play something else.

In other words, you dont need to say I play Counterfiet, choosing Gold. Instead, you would put Counterfiet on the table, then put Gold on the table, announcing each card as it goes on the table. So yes, you do announce things; all I meant was that you actually play the Gold, you dont simply name Gold.
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: crj on June 04, 2018, 09:42:13 pm
Yes, this actually matters if you Prince (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Prince) or Summon (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Summon) a Crown (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Crown) (using cost reduction).
I think Crown is currently the only card that cares? But there are more ways than that to get one played at start-of-turn. (Ghost, playing it indirectly via a throne, Vassal, Herald, one of the above, etc.)
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: crj on June 04, 2018, 09:50:22 pm
Spoils will not ever go to the trash in this case.
Just for the sake of clarity, Spoils can end up in the trash. Just not like that. (-8

For example, you might end up trashing one if attacked with Bandit.
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: Jack Rudd on June 05, 2018, 06:22:52 am
Yes, this actually matters if you Prince (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Prince) or Summon (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Summon) a Crown (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Crown) (using cost reduction).
I think Crown is currently the only card that cares? But there are more ways than that to get one played at start-of-turn. (Ghost, playing it indirectly via a throne, Vassal, Herald, one of the above, etc.)
Werewolf is the other card that cares.
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: Gazbag on June 05, 2018, 08:48:47 am
Yes, this actually matters if you Prince (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Prince) or Summon (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Summon) a Crown (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Crown) (using cost reduction).
I think Crown is currently the only card that cares? But there are more ways than that to get one played at start-of-turn. (Ghost, playing it indirectly via a throne, Vassal, Herald, one of the above, etc.)
Werewolf is the other card that cares.
Werewolf just cares about whether or not it's Night, so if start of turn wasn't the Action phase it'd still give +3 Cards.
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: Chappy7 on June 05, 2018, 11:11:41 am
For number 3, you generally do narrorate things as you do them, such as I play Village, draw a card. Silver, Silver, Cooper, buy a Witch. Your turn.

But the difference between Pawn and Counterfiet is that with Pawn, stating your choices out loud is the only way to let your opponent know what you have chosen. With Counterfiet, your choice becomes known because you actually play something else.

In other words, you dont need to say I play Counterfiet, choosing Gold. Instead, you would put Counterfiet on the table, then put Gold on the table, announcing each card as it goes on the table. So yes, you do announce things; all I meant was that you actually play the Gold, you dont simply name Gold.

Announcing it might still be right.  What if I play Counterfeit, then choose to not counterfeit anything, then continue playing treasures. (Lord Rattington taught me that awesome strategy) In that case it seems like you'd need to announce that you aren't choosing anything, or you'd need to announce the cases when you do choose a treasure to play twice. 
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: markusin on June 05, 2018, 12:14:22 pm
For number 3, you generally do narrorate things as you do them, such as I play Village, draw a card. Silver, Silver, Cooper, buy a Witch. Your turn.

But the difference between Pawn and Counterfiet is that with Pawn, stating your choices out loud is the only way to let your opponent know what you have chosen. With Counterfiet, your choice becomes known because you actually play something else.

In other words, you dont need to say I play Counterfiet, choosing Gold. Instead, you would put Counterfiet on the table, then put Gold on the table, announcing each card as it goes on the table. So yes, you do announce things; all I meant was that you actually play the Gold, you dont simply name Gold.

Announcing it might still be right.  What if I play Counterfeit, then choose to not counterfeit anything, then continue playing treasures. (Lord Rattington taught me that awesome strategy) In that case it seems like you'd need to announce that you aren't choosing anything, or you'd need to announce the cases when you do choose a treasure to play twice.

Yeah especially when it comes to playing or not playing Spoils with Counterfeit. You can't say "oh he trashed the Spoils so obviously he played it with Counterfeit" because the Spoils doesn't get trashed either way. Maybe this matters for Storyteller + Villa or Black Market, who knows.
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: GendoIkari on June 05, 2018, 12:21:34 pm
For number 3, you generally do narrorate things as you do them, such as I play Village, draw a card. Silver, Silver, Cooper, buy a Witch. Your turn.

But the difference between Pawn and Counterfiet is that with Pawn, stating your choices out loud is the only way to let your opponent know what you have chosen. With Counterfiet, your choice becomes known because you actually play something else.

In other words, you dont need to say I play Counterfiet, choosing Gold. Instead, you would put Counterfiet on the table, then put Gold on the table, announcing each card as it goes on the table. So yes, you do announce things; all I meant was that you actually play the Gold, you dont simply name Gold.

Announcing it might still be right.  What if I play Counterfeit, then choose to not counterfeit anything, then continue playing treasures. (Lord Rattington taught me that awesome strategy) In that case it seems like you'd need to announce that you aren't choosing anything, or you'd need to announce the cases when you do choose a treasure to play twice.

Yeah especially when it comes to playing or not playing Spoils with Counterfeit. You can't say "oh he trashed the Spoils so obviously he played it with Counterfeit" because the Spoils doesn't get trashed either way. Maybe this matters for Storyteller + Villa or Black Market, who knows.

To further clarify, my point was only meant that you actually play the gold when Counterfeit tells you to play a treasure twice, as opposed to the question I was replying to: "Do I announce the Gold is the one I'm playing twice and then immediately trash it to take it out of play". That question sounded to me like it was implying that either he thought you would just play all treasures at once, and then state "Of these Treasures, Gold is the one that's being doubled". Or that you would move Gold directly to the Trash without literally playing it twice.
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: BobbyZim on June 06, 2018, 12:29:24 am
Imagine that you represent actions by using beads or tokens. (You could even actually do this for a few games if it helps.) The game gives you one action "token" at the start of your turn. In the action phase, you are allowed to play an action card at the cost of giving up one of your action "tokens." Some action cards say "+1 Action" or "+2 Actions"; when you play those, you take that many action "tokens" back. If you have any action "tokens" left after playing an action card, you may play another one, again handing in one of your action "tokens." When you run out of action "tokens," or when you decide you're done playing action cards, you move on to the buy phase.  At the end of the turn (or at least before the beginning of your next turn), you lose any action "tokens" you didn't spend.

This was such a good idea, I gave it its own thread (http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=18703).

Thank you so much, chipper.
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: chipperMDW on June 06, 2018, 11:03:32 am
Thank you so much, chipper.

No problem. I'm glad I helped!
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: BobbyZim on June 17, 2018, 02:27:06 pm
Since I'm here, quick question on Seaside:

If I Embargo the Curses pile, does that mean anybody buying a Curse (which I've found with Ambassador and other circumstances may be something a player wants to do) gets two Curses if they buy it as opposed to gaining it some other means?
Title: Re: Counterfeit Clarification
Post by: Awaclus on June 17, 2018, 02:32:44 pm
Since I'm here, quick question on Seaside:

If I Embargo the Curses pile, does that mean anybody buying a Curse (which I've found with Ambassador and other circumstances may be something a player wants to do) gets two Curses if they buy it as opposed to gaining it some other means?

Yes.