Dominion Strategy Forum

Innovation => Innovation General Discussion => Topic started by: qdread on May 14, 2014, 12:10:02 pm

Title: Champlain: interaction or bug?
Post by: qdread on May 14, 2014, 12:10:02 pm
http://innovation.isotropic.org/gamelog/201405/14/game-20140514-081614-32d40d7e.html

This occurred on my opponent Lacyon's turn 14. He shared some dogmas, causing me to draw a 5th card into my hand, an age 7, when I had Champlain on the board and achievements were still available. It did not trigger Champlain's karma. However, the next turn, I melded a card and drew a 5th card again, also an age 7, and this time it did trigger the karma. Was that supposed to happen?
Title: Re: Champlain: interaction or bug?
Post by: antony on June 04, 2014, 04:27:23 am
The rules say that only one karma can be active at a time, although it is mildly unclear whether this applies to all players together or separately.  In this case, Archimedes' karma was in effect, so I guess Isotropic uses the former interpretation.
Although... Archimedes is a "if you would... first... " karma and the rules seem to suggest that the karma is considered resolved as soon as the "first" part is completed.